Expert opinions on the economic viability of projects and feasibility studies

Financing large-scale international projects requiring a high investment volume is a difficult and complex endeavour. Export Credit Guarantees issued by the German government protect export transactions by German corporations against commercial and political risks. These guarantees reduce the risks for banks and project sponsors. This makes the financing of the project considerably more advantageous for the participating companies. Sometimes the project would not be implemented at all without these guarantees. Before the German government decides whether to grant a so-called Hermes Coverage, the project participants are required to submit an expert opinion or expertise. PwC has many years of extensive experience in preparing such expert opinions and expertises.

Expert opinions on the economic viability of projects

In order to assess whether a major project is commercially viable, PwC will analyse whether the project participants share the burdens in a fair manner, whether the construction and operation contracts for the project are reasonable, whether the commercial, tax and technical assumptions are plausible, and whether the cash flows will be sufficiently sound to be able to pay back the debt even under adverse market conditions.

Export Credit Guarantees

For more than 25 years, PwC has as an independent expert been contributing to project financings for Euler Hermes. PwC's experts have successfully completed over 150 expert opinions and expertises, thereby enabling numerous companies to get their risks covered by the German government.

PwC is in great demand as an advisor to Export Credit Agencies (ECAs) – also on an international level: PwC's team of experts has provided advice regarding their cover decisions for a number of international Export Credit Agencies (ECAs), such as the French Banque publique d'investissement (Bpifrance), the Korean Export-Import Bank (KEXIM), the Italian Servizi Assicurativi del Commercio Estero (SACE) and the British UK Export Finance.

Feasibility studies

PwC also supports medium-sized companies with their investment plans by drafting business feasibility studies and issuing expert opinions on the commercial viability. Based on business analyses, the PwC experts assess whether an investment plan is sustainable. By analysing and verifying the concept of a project, the PwC experts help businesses increase their planning reliability. An investment plan considered feasible by PwC offers a sound basis for negotiations with banks, investors and one’s own management. This will make the financing of an investment project considerably easier; often times it is the feasibility study that allows a project to be implemented at all.

Contact us

Heiko Lentge

Heiko Lentge

Global Head ECA Advisory & Head of CoE Modelling Transactions

Tel: +49 40 6378-1440

Alexander Wuermeling

Alexander Wuermeling

ECA Advisory

Tel: +49 40 6378-1426

Follow us

Tragfähigkeitsgutachten und Machbarkeitsstudien

31 März, 2010

Die Finanzierung von internationalen Großprojekten mit hohem Investitionsbedarf ist schwierig und komplex. Exportkreditgarantien des Bundes sichern Exportgeschäfte deutscher Unternehmen gegen wirtschaftliche und politische Risiken ab. Durch diese Garantien reduziert sich das Risiko für Banken und Projektsponsoren. Das macht die Projektfinanzierung für die beteiligten Unternehmen deutlich günstiger oder überhaupt erst möglich. Bevor der Bund darüber entscheidet, ob er eine sogenannte Hermesdeckung gewährt, müssen die Beteiligten eine Gutachtliche Stellungnahme einholen. PwC verfügt über umfassende und langjährige Erfahrung bei der Erstellung solcher Tragfähigkeitsgutachten.

Tragfähigkeitsgutachten

Um die wirtschaftliche Tragfähigkeit eines Großprojekts zu beurteilen, analysiert PwC unter anderem, ob das Risiko fair zwischen den Projektparteien verteilt ist, ob die Verträge für den Bau und den Betrieb des Projektes angemessen sind, ob die wirtschaftlichen, steuerlichen und technischen Annahmen plausibel sind und ob der Cashflow auch unter ungünstigen Marktbedingungen ausreicht, um die Kredite zurückzuzahlen.

Exportkreditversicherungen

Seit über 25 Jahren begleitet PwC als unabhängiger Gutachter Projektfinanzierungen für Euler Hermes. Mehr als 150 Gutachtliche Stellungnahmen haben die PwC-Experten erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Damit haben sie zahlreichen Unternehmen die Abdeckung ihrer Risiken durch den Bund ermöglicht.

PwC ist auch international als Berater für Exportkreditversicherer gefragt: Das Expertenteam hat mehrere internationale Exportkreditversicherer (ECAs) wie zum Beispiel die französische Banque publique d'investissement (Bpifrance), die koreanische Export-Import Bank (KEXIM), die italienische Servizi Assicurativi del Commercio Estero (SACE) und die englische UK Export Finance bei ihren Deckungsentscheidungen beraten.

Machbarkeitsstudien

Mit der Erstellung von betriebswirtschaftlichen Machbarkeitsstudien bzw. Stellungnahmen zur Wirtschaftlichkeit unterstützt PwC auch mittelständische Unternehmen bei ihren Investitionsvorhaben. Auf der Basis von betriebswirtschaftlichen Analysen untersuchen die PwC-Experten, ob ein Investitionsvorhaben tragfähig ist. Sie analysieren und plausibilisieren das Projektkonzept und helfen dem Unternehmen somit dabei, die Planungssicherheit zu erhöhen. Ein von PwC für tragfähig erachtetes Investitionsvorhaben bietet eine gute Argumentationsgrundlage gegenüber Banken, Investoren und der eigenen Geschäftsleitung. Es erleichtert die Finanzierung eines Investitionsvorhabens erheblich und sorgt damit häufig dafür, dass ein Projekt überhaupt realisiert werden kann.

Contact us

Heiko Lentge

Global Head ECA Advisory & Head of CoE Modelling Transactions

Tel.: +49 40 6378-1440

Alexander Wuermeling

ECA Advisory

Tel.: +49 40 6378-1426

Follow us