Support for FREP audits

Since July 2005, the German Financial Reporting Enforcement Panel (FREP) “Deutsche Prüfstelle für Rechnungslegung” (DPR) has been responsible for supervising annual and consolidated financial statements. In addition, they are responsible for the corresponding (group) management reports of publicly listed companies in Germany. For all of these companies the FREP conducts either an indication-based examination or sampling examination. The auditing procedure is performed in two stages. If the companies do not cooperate on voluntary grounds or do not agree with the FREP findings, the Federal Financial Supervisory Authority “Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht” (BaFin) comes into play.

Since the commencement of their activities in 2005, the FREP has completed a total of 1,140 examinations. Almost all companies undergoing the enforcement have already been reviewed by the FREP once – many of them three times. The publication does not only have a detrimental effect on the reputation of a company, but also on its valuation.

Irrespective of the risk of errors being found, the review of financial statements by the FREP represents a considerable challenge for a company, organizational and in regards tocontent. The questions posed by the FREP are complex and must be answered under time pressure. PwC can provide professional assistance in overcoming this special task by ensuring a rapid and successful completion of the review process. Additionally, PwC can assist in reducing the burden on a company’s human resources.

In a preparation workshop, PwC experts provide information about procedures and possibilities of preparing a company for a FREP review. As a further source of assistance, PwC has drawn up comprehensive practical guidelines for companies undergoing a FREP review process ("Enforcement Planner") in which the procedure involved is described.

Process preparation (FREP Readiness)

In accordance with the published FREP areas of audit emphasis, collective PwC experiences with FREP examinations, and enterprise-specific peculiarities, a company’s critical accounting issues can beidentified with the assistance of PwC.

PwC experts support companies in identifying papers and documents which are relevant for the appropriate response of specific FREP questions. Furthermore, PwC provides guidance on the preparation and readiness of the required papers and documents which allow the companies to answer FREP questions within the usual deadline.

In addition, PwC provides assistance in setting up an appropriate project and process organization and the delegation of tasks among employees.

Process assistance

During a FREP review, PwC experts provide advice on the basis of their experience from a large number of FREP reviews. This advisory service covers information about the individual stages of the respective process, the examination, and responses to questions from the FREP. In the course of a FREP review, it may be advisable to discuss complex topics with the FREP. PwC assists and advises companies to carry out these discussions in a competent and professional manner.

Process follow-up

PwC experts also provide advice at the end of the process with the implementation of experience gained from the FREP review. In this course, companies are supported with the analysis of time and resourceconsuming response processes and suggestions for improvement are elaborated. If errors are found during the review, PwC gives advise on the strategy for capital market communication and the necessary rectification of errors. Furthermore, specialists are also available to advise and support companies in the event that the process is passed on to the Federal Financial Supervisory Authority "Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht" (BaFin).

Contact us

Dr. Bernd Kliem

Dr. Bernd Kliem

Partner

Tel: +49 89 5790-5549

Follow us

Begleitung bei DPR-Prüfungen

Die Deutsche Prüfstelle für Rechnungslegung (DPR) kontrolliert seit Mitte 2005 die Jahres- und Konzernabschlüsse und die zugehörigen (Konzern-)Lageberichte der kapitalmarktorientierten Unternehmen in Deutschland. Alle diese Unternehmen werden von der DPR überprüft, entweder anlassbezogen oder in einer Stichprobenprüfung. Das Prüfungsverfahren ist zweistufig aufgebaut. Wirken die Unternehmen nicht freiwillig mit oder sind sie mit dem Ergebnis der Überprüfung nicht einverstanden, übernimmt die Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht (BaFin) das Verfahren.

Seit Aufnahme ihrer Tätigkeit im Jahr 2005 hat die DPR über 1.140 Prüfungen abgeschlossen. Fast alle der dem Enforcement unterliegenden Unternehmen wurden bereits einmal von der DPR geprüft, viele Unternehmen bereits zum dritten Mal. Die Bekanntmachung beeinträchtigt nicht nur das Image des Unternehmens, sondern auch dessen Bewertung.

Unabhängig von dem Risiko einer Fehlerfeststellung ist die Prüfung eines Abschlusses durch die DPR eine inhaltliche und organisatorische Herausforderung für das Unternehmen. Die Fragen der DPR sind komplex und müssen unter Zeitdruck beantwortet werden. PwC kann helfen, diese Sonderaufgabe, für die im Unternehmen in der Regel keine Ressourcen vorgesehen sind, professionell zu bewältigen, um einen schnelleren Prüfungsablauf zu ermöglichen und personelle Ressourcen des Unternehmens zu schonen.

In einem Vorbereitungs-Workshop informieren PwC-Experten über den Verfahrensablauf und über Möglichkeiten der Vorbereitung auf die DPR-Prüfung durch das Unternehmen. Als weitere Hilfestellung hat PwC einen umfassenden Praxisleitfaden für Unternehmen im DPR-Prüfprozess („Enforcement Planner“) entwickelt, der das Verfahren beschreibt.

Vorbereitung des Verfahrens (DPR-Readiness)

Mögliche Themen, die für die DPR von Interesse sein könnten, werden mit Unterstützung von PwC anhand der veröffentlichten Prüfungsschwerpunkte der DPR, den PwC-Erfahrungen aus einer Vielzahl von DPR-Prüfungen und unternehmensspezifischen Besonderheiten identifiziert.

PwC-Experten unterstützen Unternehmen, die Unterlagen und Dokumentationen zu identifizieren, die für eine sachgerechte Beantwortung der zu erwartenden Fragen der DPR erforderlich sind. PwC berät Firmen außerdem, wie Unterlagen und Dokumentationen regelmäßig so aufzubereiten und bereitzuhalten sind, damit Unternehmen die Fragen der DPR in der üblichen Frist beantworten können.

Darüber hinaus geben PwC-Spezialisten Hilfestellung beim Aufbau einer angemessenen Projektorganisation und der Aufgabenverteilung unter den Mitarbeitern.

Begleitung des Verfahrens

Während einer DPR-Prüfung beraten PwC-Experten auf Basis ihrer Erfahrung aus einer Vielzahl von DPR-Prüfungen. Die Beratung erstreckt sich neben Informationen über die einzelnen Schritte des jeweiligen Verfahrens auch auf die Durchsicht und Kommentierung von Antwortschreiben an die DPR. Es kann sich im Laufe einer DPR-Prüfung empfehlen, komplexe Themen mit der DPR zu besprechen. PwC unterstützt Unternehmen so, dass sie diese Gespräche kompetent führen können, und begleitet sie.

Nachbereitung des Verfahrens

PwC-Experten beraten auch am Ende des Verfahrens bei der Umsetzung von Erfahrungen aus der DPR-Prüfung. Dabei unterstützen sie Unternehmen insbesondere bei der Analyse von zeit- und ressourcenaufwendigen Antwortprozessen und erarbeiten Vorschläge zur Verbesserung. Wenn in der Prüfung Fehler festgestellt wurden, berät PwC zur Strategie der Kapitalmarktkommunikation und der erforderlichen Berichtigung des Fehlers. Auch für den Fall, dass das Verfahren an die BaFin übergeben wird, können Spezialisten die Firmen beraten und unterstützen.

Contact us

Dr. Bernd Kliem

Partner

Tel.: +49 89 5790-5549

Michael Herr

Senior Manager

Tel.: +49 69 9585-1686

Follow us