Advice on complex business transactions and their structuring

Companies are being faced with increasingly more complex requirements in international accounting by the International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) and the American accounting regulations US-GAAP. As a result, it is becoming increasingly more difficult to assess transactions and their reporting consequences. Once the contracts have been signed, it is often too late to prevent the negative consequences on reporting, future development of results and significant indices. PwC advises companies throughout the complete transaction process.

The accounting effects of planned transactions - such as company acquisitions, leasing transactions, factoring on equity capital, debt, sales realization or other performance indices - are difficult to assess. Joint ventures and outsourcing or financing measures also have an influence on reporting and future development of results and also have an effect on significant indices such as the capital to assets ratio, as well as control quantities such as EBITDA, return on sales, economic value added (EVA) or return on capital employed (ROCE) and other important underlying conditions (e.g. debt covenants).

Advice on reporting effects from the planning phase to the signing of contracts

PwC assists companies throughout a project and the complete transaction process - from the strategic planning phase to initial conceptual drafts, term sheets and draft contracts to final signing of contracts. In doing so, PwC's teams of specialists highlight the reporting effects of complex contracts and transaction structures. They identify and explain critical aspects. This procedure makes it possible to have selective influence on expected effects on reporting, future effects on results and significant control quantities and indices.

PwC analyses the reporting consequences of planned transactions and, as a result, creates a better basis in order to be able to assess the advantages of the transaction. At the same time, this procedure allows modifications to the transaction structure or contractual provisions.

Increased reliability of communications and external presentation

As a result there is a growth in the reliability of communications and external presentation towards shareholders, investors, banks and analysts. After all, this calls for companies knowing the reporting effects of alternative transaction structures and having reliable forecasts at their disposal.

In addition, PwC experts also illustrate alternative courses of action for the structuring of projects. As a result, adjustments can be made to contracts or transaction structures having an effect on the economic result of the planned transaction and therefore its presentation in the consolidated financial statements.

With a team of experienced specialists, PwC is involved from the early phase of strategy and project planning right the way through to signing of contracts, and at the same time helps to find alternative courses of action.
 

Phases of the transaction process

Contact us

Klaus Bernhard

Partner, Deals Accounting & Reporting

Tel: +49 89 5790-5240

Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Loitz

Assurance Technology & Innovation

Tel: +49 211 981-2839

Follow us

Beratung bei komplexen Geschäftsvorfällen und deren Strukturierung

Unternehmen stehen vor immer komplexeren Vorgaben der internationalen Rechnungslegung durch die International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) und die amerikanischen Rechnungslegungsvorschriften US-GAAP. Transaktionen und ihre bilanziellen Folgen werden damit zunehmend schwerer einschätzbar. Sind die Verträge erst einmal abgeschlossen, ist es oft zu spät, negative Folgen auf die bilanzielle Darstellung, die künftige Ergebnisentwicklung und auf bedeutende Kennzahlen zu verhindern. PwC berät Unternehmen während des gesamten Transaktionsprozesses.

Die bilanziellen Auswirkungen von geplanten Transaktionen - wie zum Beispiel Unternehmenskäufe, Leasingtransaktionen und Factoring auf Eigenkapital, Fremdkapital, Umsatzrealisierung oder andere Performance-Kennzahlen - sind schwer einschätzbar. Auch Joint Ventures und Outsourcing- oder Finanzierungsmaßnahmen haben Einfluss auf die bilanzielle Darstellung und die künftige Ergebnisentwicklung. Sie wirken sich zudem auf bedeutende Kennzahlen aus, wie zum Beispiel die Eigenkapitalquote und Steuerungsgrößen wie EBITDA, Umsatzrenditen, Economic Value Added (EVA) oder Return on Capital Employed (ROCE) und andere wichtige Rahmenbedingungen (beispielsweise Debt Covenants).

Beratung zu den bilanziellen Folgen von der Planungsphase bis zum Vertragsabschluss

PwC unterstützt Unternehmen projektbegleitend während des gesamten Transaktionsprozesses - von der strategischen Planungsphase über erste Konzeptentwürfe, Term Sheets und Vertragsentwürfe bis zur finalen Vertragsunterzeichnung. Dabei zeigen die Spezialistenteams von PwC die bilanziellen Auswirkungen von komplexen Verträgen und Transaktionsstrukturen auf. Sie identifizieren und erläutern kritische Punkte. Dieses Vorgehen ermöglicht es, gezielt Einfluss zu nehmen auf die zu erwartenden bilanziellen Effekte, die künftigen Ergebniswirkungen und maßgebliche Steuerungsgrößen und Kennzahlen.

PwC analysiert die bilanziellen Konsequenzen geplanter Transaktionen und schafft dadurch eine bessere Grundlage, um die Vorteile der Transaktion zu beurteilen. Gleichzeitig ermöglicht dieses Vorgehen Modifikationen der Transaktionsstruktur oder der Vertragsregelungen.

Wachsende Sicherheit in Kommunikation und Außendarstellung

Dadurch wächst die Sicherheit in der Kommunikation und Außendarstellung gegenüber Gesellschaftern, Investoren, Banken und Analysten. Denn dazu müssen Unternehmen die bilanziellen Auswirkungen alternativer Transaktionsstrukturen kennen und über verlässliche Prognosen verfügen.

Die PwC-Experten verdeutlichen zudem Handlungsalternativen bei der Strukturierung von Projekten. Dadurch können Verträge oder Transaktionsstrukturen angepasst werden, die das wirtschaftliche Ergebnis der geplanten Transaktion und damit die Darstellung im Konzernabschluss beeinflussen.

PwC steht von der frühen Phase der Strategie- und Projektplanung bis zur Vertragsunterzeichnung mit einem erfahrenen Spezialistenteam zur Verfügung und hilft dabei, Handlungsalternativen zu finden.

Beratung bei komplexen Geschäftsvorfällen

Contact us

Klaus Bernhard

Partner, Deals Accounting & Reporting

Tel.: +49 89 5790-5240

Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Loitz

Assurance Technology & Innovation

Tel.: +49 211 981-2839

Follow us