Support for the conversion, organization and ongoing optimization of financial accounting

The purpose of company financial accounting is to fulfil the legal obligation of external reporting. With frequent changes to German accounting regulations and reports becoming due much earlier, external reporting is increasingly faced with a "compliance" danger. Additionally, with the IFRS and tax legislation increasing the already existing complexity, reliable reporting is becoming more difficult, but at the same time more important for the confidence of the stakeholders.

Conversions to another GAAP or new standards

For years, PwC has been successfully helping companies with the conversion from one regulation to another: US GAAP, IFRS, German Commercial Code (HGB), and other federal state laws. Multiple circumstances require a conversion:

  • A private equity investor wants to go public with several companies in his portfolio, and for that he needs IFRS but also US GAAP annual financial statements.
  • A midsized company, managed by the owner, needs liabilities for further international expansions. The financial institution requires annual IFRS consolidated financial statements. For the company’s customers overseas, the owner wants to provide annual statements with international regulations so any individual is able to understand the statements.
  • A German consolidated company buys enterprises, for example, in South Africa. These enterprises now have to be part of the annual consolidated financial report, however, historically the company has only prepared financial statements based on German law.
  • A Chinese investor takes over a German group. In this case the German companies, as well as, other subsidiary companies have to convert their financial statements to Chinese GAAP.

These conversions represent a challenge for companies, and their employees. In addition, they bear extensive effects on systems and processes. With these challenges, it is important to have a competent advisor, with an understanding of the business, to assist the company during the implementation phase.

Wherever necessary, the modular range of services offered by PwC provide full project management and quality assurance. This includes a preliminary survey, clarification of critical accounting issues, support in the determination of adjustment entries and data generation for the notes, and an extensive training program. PwC's expertise also includes the implementation of appropriate IT-solutions.

When new regulations are launched within an existing reporting-tool, numerous challenges arise. Current examples are, IFRS 15 “revenue from contracts with customers” and IFRS 16 “Leases”. With the extensive range of services offered by PwC, PwC can provide quick solutions to these challenges.

Once the conversion of the first reporting year has been completed, work is required on the ongoing optimization of the reporting process and the alignment of the accounting's organization (embedding).

Organization and ongoing optimization of accounting

The objective of embedding is to integrate financial statements (e.g. IFRS) more conclusively into corporate processes. The benefit: active regulation, control of the preparation process, and quality assurance. As a result, companies save time and costs due to the automated embedding process and non-value added activities are reduced to a minimum.

The financial accounting department must be able to fulfil a wide range of reporting duties. This calls for the inclusion of the various divisions of a company. PwC assists companies in restructuring responsibilities for IFRS topics according to best practice and identifying the interfaces between the respective divisions (Financial Accounting, Controlling, Treasury, and Legal). Experts acquaint employees from the respective departments with their appointed tasks and keeps them up to speed. In addition, PwC assists companies with the revision of accounting guidelines and the preparation of practice manuals.

Accounting Compliance

New requirements regarding financial accounting must be implemented across departments. At the same time, the correct application of the accounting regulations have to be ensured. It’s also important to keep track of the impact on the business model. Meanwhile, the accounting departments should act as a business partner for other departments to ensure compliance. Depending on the complexity and the judgement of accounting-related issues, it must be decided whether accounting decisions should be standardized and automatized or if embedding in a Center of Excellence with instruction competencies is the better choice. Thanks to individual and cost-effective systems, quality can be ensured and the professional skills of the employees can be regularly controlled.

PwC supports your implementation of an effective Accounting Compliance System and covers all individual needs.

Contact us

Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Loitz

Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Loitz

Assurance Technology & Innovation

Tel: +49 211 981-2839

Martin Petry

Tel: +49 201 438-2116

Follow us

Unterstützung bei der Umstellung, Organisation und laufenden Optimierung der Rechnungslegung

Das betriebliche Rechnungswesen dient dazu, der gesetzlichen Pflicht einer externen Berichterstattung nachzukommen. Weil sich die handelsrechtlichen Regelungen schnell ändern und Berichte immer früher fällig werden, ist die externe Berichterstattung zunehmend einer "Compliance"-Gefahr ausgesetzt. Die International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) und die Steuergesetze erhöhen diese Komplexität. Eine verlässliche Berichterstattung wird schwieriger, aber für das Vertrauen der Stakeholder immer wichtiger.

Umstellung auf eine andere Rechnungslegung oder neue Standards

Seit Jahren unterstützt PwC Unternehmen erfolgreich bei der Rechnungslegungs-Umstellung (Conversion) von einer Vorschrift auf die andere: US GAAP, IFRS, Handelsrecht oder ein anderes Landesrecht. Die Szenarien, die eine Umstellung erfordern, sind vielfältig:

  • Ein Private-Equity Investor möchte mehrere Gesellschaften seines Portfolios an die Börse bringen und benötigt dafür jeweils IFRS- oder US GAAP-Abschlüsse.
  • Ein Eigentümer-geführter Mittelständler benötigt für seine weitere internationale Expansion Fremdkapital. Die Bank fordert jährliche IFRS-Konzern-Abschlüsse. Der Eigentümer möchte für seine Kunden im Ausland einen Abschluss seines Konzerns vorlegen, dessen Regelungen sie verstehen können.
  • Ein deutscher Konzern kauft Gesellschaften z.B. in Südamerika hinzu. Diese Gesellschaften müssen in das Konzernreporting nach den IFRS integriert werden. Bisher haben die Gesellschaften nur nach den landesrechtlichen Vorschriften Abschlüsse aufgestellt.
  • Eine deutsche Gruppe wird von einem chinesischen Investor übernommen. In diesem Fall müssen die deutschen Gesellschaften sowie die ausländischen Tochterunternehmen auf die chinesischen Vorschriften umgestellt werden.

Diese Umstellungen stellen eine Herausforderung für Unternehmen sowie deren Mitarbeiter dar und haben weitgehende Auswirkungen auf die Systeme und Prozesse. Umso wichtiger ist es daher, einen kompetenten Berater zu haben, der Unternehmen in der Implementierungsphase mit Fachexpertise und Verständnis für das Geschäft begleitet.

Das modulare Dienstleistungsangebot von PwC bietet auf Wunsch das komplette Projektmanagement sowie die Qualitätssicherung. Dazu gehören eine Vorstudie, die Klärung kritischer Bilanzierungsfragen, die Unterstützung bei der Ermittlung der Anpassungsbuchungen und Datengenerierung für den Anhang sowie ein ausführliches Schulungsprogramm. PwC verfügt hier über eine hohe Beratungskompetenz, die auch die Implementierung geeigneter IT-Lösungen zum Gegenstand hat.

Die gleiche Herausforderung stellt sich für Unternehmen auch, wenn neue Vorschriften innerhalb des angewendeten Rechnungslegungswerks eingeführt werden. Als aktuelle Beispiele können hier IFRS 15 „Erlöse aus Verträge mit Kunden“ oder IFRS 16 „Leasingverhältnisse“ genannt werden. Auch hier gewährleistet das modulare Dienstleistungsangebot von PwC eine effiziente Umstellung auf die neuen Vorschriften.

Ist die Umstellung des ersten Berichtsjahres geschafft, ist an der laufenden Optimierung des Berichtsprozesses und an der Ausrichtung der Organisation des Rechnungswesens zu arbeiten (Embedding).

Organisation und laufende Optimierung der Rechnungslegung

Ziel des Embedding ist es, die Rechnungslegung (bspw. IFRS) stärker in die Unternehmensprozesse einzubetten. Der Nutzen: eine aktive Steuerung und Kontrolle des Erstellungsprozesses und damit die Sicherstellung der Qualität. Zudem sparen Unternehmen Zeit und Kosten ein, weil das Embedding automatisiert und nicht wertschöpfende Tätigkeiten auf ein Mindestmaß reduziert.

Das Rechnungswesen muss eine Vielzahl von Berichtspflichten erfüllen können. Das setzt voraus, dass verschiedene Fachbereiche des Unternehmens einbezogen werden. PwC unterstützt Firmen, die Verantwortlichkeiten für die IFRS-Themen nach best practice zu strukturieren und die Schnittstellen zwischen den Fachbereichen (Finanzbuchhaltung, Controlling, Treasury und Rechtsabteilung) aufzuzeigen.

Experten führen die Mitarbeiter der Fachabteilungen an die ihnen übertragenen Themen heran und halten sie auf dem Laufenden. Zudem unterstützt PwC Unternehmen bei der Überarbeitung der Bilanzierungsrichtlinien und der Erstellung von Praxishandbüchern.

Accounting Compliance

Neue Anforderungen an die Rechnungslegung sind abteilungsübergreifend zu implementieren – gleichzeitig ist die korrekte Anwendung der Rechnungslegungsvorschriften sicherzustellen und die Auswirkungen auf das Geschäftsmodell sind im Auge zu behalten. Das Finanz- und Rechnungswesen muss hier als Business Partner anderer Abteilungen und Bereiche agieren und so die Accounting Compliance gewährleisten. In Abhängigkeit von der Komplexität und der Ermessenhaftigkeit der jeweiligen rechnungslegungsrelevanten Sachverhalten ist festzulegen, ob die Bilanzierungsentscheidung standardisiert und automatisiert werden kann oder ob diese durch Einbindung eines Center of Excellence mit Richtlinienkompetenz und Konsultationspflichten zu treffen ist. Qualität kann so durch ein unternehmensindividuelles System kosteneffizient sichergestellt werden. Die fachlichen Fähigkeiten der eingebundenen Mitarbeiter muss dafür entsprechend stetig überprüft und ggf. ausgebaut werden.

PwC unterstützt Sie bei der Implementierung eines effektiven Accounting Compliance Systems und schneidet die Leistungen dabei auf Ihre unternehmensspezifischen Bedürfnisse zu.

Contact us

Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Loitz

Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Loitz

Assurance Technology & Innovation

Tel.: +49 211 981-2839

Martin Petry

Martin Petry

Partner

Tel.: +49 201 438-2116

Follow us