Support for planning and assessment, in the context of accounting

Accounting in accordance with the International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) or the US accounting standards (US GAAP) requires the valuation of a large number of assets and liabilities at fair value. PwC helps businesses to find individual solutions to problems and to discover alternatives.

Many businesses have problems accurately valuing assets and liabilities when preparing financial accounts. This problem becomes much more complex when accounts are subject to International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) or the US accounting standard (US GAAP): both standards require a large number of assets to be valued at fair value.

This is particularly important in business transactions. The standards also require the regular valuation of certain assets, using the impairment test.

The evaluation of complex transactions, such as leasing transactions, purchase of businesses, financing processes and derivatives, can place large demands on businesses. In each case, the underlying accounting and evaluation methods are complex and subject to continual change.

The incorrect use of accounting methods is inherently risky and can lead to an inaccurate assessment of a company's future performance, and thus of its value. Proprietors and shareholders, company managers, oversight boards - and, where share option plans are in place, even employees - can all be equally affected by erroneous accounting.

PwC's specialists provide support to businesses, in particular in the following areas:

  • Impairment tests
  • Business valuations and purchase price allocations in company acquisitions
  • Identification and measurement of intangible assets and goodwill
  • Property, plant and equipment (IAS 16)
  • Leasing transactions
  • Pension obligations
  • Share options
  • Derivatives
  • Taxes

PwC supports businesses by preparing initial accounts following a business acquisition. At the same time, PwC's specialists install efficient and widely recognised processes that help fulfil all subsequent obligations by means of a regular impairment test.

This impairment test is an obligatory lowest value test, used to measure intangible assets and goodwill.

PwC's solutions include implementing purchase price allocations, identifying intangible assets and goodwill and revaluing fixed assets (property, plant and equipment) in connection with business transactions. This is complemented by ongoing checks of intangible assets and goodwill for any required value adjustments (impairments). PwC helps businesses set up the processes and systems required for their impairment test, so that it can be advantageously carried out as part of routine business reporting.

Leasing transactions

An evaluation of the profitability of this form of financing should evaluate its impact on the company's financial position. The regulations on balancing lease contracts, particularly valuation of the lessor and lessee's business property, vary widely between HGB, IFRS and US GAAP. Errors in assessments have a high impact on the business's financial position and thus on its financing costs. PwC provides support in valuing and structuring leasing businesses, to ensure a fair and balanced accounting picture.

Tax accounting

The tax accounting standards under IFRS, US GAAP and the commercial code regulations of the Accounting Standards Committee of Germany (known by its German initials DRSC) recognise the accounting of deferred taxes and current taxes. PwC helps businesses to correctly apply the complex tax accounting standards, supporting them with a tried and tested web-based database and Excel solutions. These programmes support the calculation of current and deferred taxes. At the same time, they include tax planning for quarterly reporting and medium term planning purposes. PwC's experts help with the design and introduction of these systems, and the adjustment of processes within tax accounting.

Derivatives

PwC's experts help businesses to understand and confidently apply the complex rules on valuation. They also support businesses in selecting and setting up appropriate workflows and systems that display derivative financial instruments on the balance sheet in accordance with IAS 39 (recognition and assessment), in particular hedge accounting. This process also covers the business's outward presentation in business reports, consolidated financial statements and other media for communicating with analysts and investors.

Pensions and other employee compensation schemes

PwC's specialists support businesses in all issues relating to valuing and balancing employee benefits on tax and corporate balance sheets and international consolidated account balance sheets, particularly in conversions to IFRS and US GAAP. The experts analyse the existing corporate benefits arrangements, identify where changes are needed and develop alternatives that comply with current employment, tax and oversight law requirements. What are of greatest importance are the effects and obligations that arise with assessments and the drawing up balance sheets.

The valuation systems and methodologies used by PwC are well grounded in theory and tried and tested in practice. This provides a secure base for the seamless interaction between with public auditors and supervisory bodies.

Contact us

Klaus Bernhard

Klaus Bernhard

Partner, Deals Accounting & Reporting

Tel: +49 89 5790-5240

Andreas Mackenstedt

Tel: +49 69 9585-5704

Follow us

Unterstützung bei Planung und Bewertung im Rahmen der Rechnungslegung

Die Rechnungslegung nach den International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) oder den US-amerikanischen Rechnungslegungsstandards (US GAAP) verlangt eine Bewertung vieler Vermögensgegenstände und Schulden zum beizulegenden Zeitwert (fair value). PwC hilft Unternehmen, Probleme individuell zu lösen und Alternativen aufzuzeigen.

Viele Unternehmen haben Probleme mit einer sachgerechten Bewertung von Vermögensgegenständen und Schulden im Rahmen der Abschlusserstellung. Diese Problematik verstärkt sich grundsätzlich bei der Rechnungslegung nach den International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) oder dem US-amerikanischen Rechnungslegungsstandard (US-GAAP): Beide Standards fordern eine Bewertung vieler Vermögensgegenstände und Schulden zum beizulegenden Zeitwert (fair value).

Dies ist besonders bei Unternehmenstransaktionen wichtig. Darüber hinaus verlangen die Standards eine regelmäßige Überprüfung der Werthaltigkeit bestimmter Vermögenswerte und des Geschäfts- oder Firmenwertes (Goodwill) mithilfe des so genannten Impairment Tests.

Die Beurteilung von komplexen Transaktionen, zum Beispiel Leasingtransaktionen, Unternehmenskauf, Finanzierungsvorgänge und Derivate stellt häufig hohe Anforderungen an die Unternehmen. Die jeweils zugrunde liegenden Bilanzierungsmethoden und Bewertungsverfahren sind komplex und unterliegen ständigen Veränderungen.

Die falsche Anwendung der Bilanzierungsmethoden birgt Risiken und kann zur Fehleinschätzung der künftigen Leistungsfähigkeit des Unternehmens und damit des Unternehmenswertes führen. Eigentümer und Aktionäre, Unternehmensleitung, Aufsichtsgremien - und im Falle von Aktienoptionsplänen sogar die Mitarbeiter des Unternehmens - sind von diesen Risiken gleichermaßen betroffen.

Die PwC-Spezialisten unterstützen die Unternehmen insbesondere bei:

  • Impairment Tests
  • Unternehmensbewertungen und Kaufpreisallokationen bei Unternehmenserwerben (Purchase Price Allocations)
  • Identifikation und Bewertung von immateriellen Vermögensgegenständen und dem Geschäfts- oder Firmenwert (Goodwill)
  • Sachanlagen
  • Leasingtransaktionen
  • Pensionensverpflichtungen
  • Aktienoptionen
  • Derivaten
  • Steuern

PwC unterstützt die Unternehmen bei der ersten Bilanzierung nach dem Unternehmenserwerb. Gleichzeitig installieren die PwC-Spezialisten effiziente und allgemein anerkannte Verfahren zur Erfüllung der Folgepflichten mithilfe eines regelmäßigen so genannten Impairment Tests.

Der Werthaltigkeitstest (eng. Impairment-Test) ist ein verpflichtender Niederstwerttest zur Bewertung immaterieller Vermögensgegenstände sowie des Goodwill.

Die PwC-Lösungen umfassen die Durchführung von Purchase Price Allocations, die Identifikation von Immateriellen Vermögenswerten und Goodwill und die Neubewertung von Sachanlagevermögen im Zusammenhang von Unternehmenstransaktion. Dazu kommen die laufende Überprüfung von Intangible Assets und Goodwill auf notwendige Wertberichtigungen (Impairments). Für den Impairment Test hilft PwC den Unternehmen bei der Einrichtung der notwendigen Prozesse und Systeme im Unternehmen. Der Vorteil: Der Test kann während des Regelbetriebs der Unternehmensberichterstattung durchgeführt werden.

Leasingtransaktionen

Bei der Beurteilung der Wirtschaftlichkeit dieser Finanzierungsform sollte der Einfluss auf die Vermögens-, Finanz- und Ertragslage der Gesellschaft analysiert werden. Die Regelungen zur Bilanzierung von Leasingverträgen, insbesondere die Beurteilung des wirtschaftlichen Eigentums von Leasinggeber und Leasingnehmer unterscheiden sich nach HGB, IFRS und US GAAP erheblich. Fehleinschätzungen haben einen großen Einfluss auf das Bilanzbild und damit auf die Finanzierungskosten des Unternehmens. PwC unterstützt bei der Beurteilung und Strukturierung von Leasinggeschäften, um eine sachgerechte Bilanzierung sicherzustellen.

Bilanzierung von Steuern (Tax Accounting)

Die Tax-Accounting-Standards nach IFRS, US GAAP und die handelsrechtlichen Regelungen des Deutschen Rechnungslegungs Standards Committee (DRSC) erfassen die Bilanzierung von latenten Steuern (deferred taxes) und laufenden Steuern (current taxes). PwC hilft den Unternehmen, die komplexen Tax-Accounting-Standards sachgerecht anzuwenden und unterstützt hierbei durch erprobte web-basierte Datenbank- und Excel-Lösungen. Die Programme unterstützen die Berechnung laufender und latenter Steuern. Gleichzeitig beziehen sie die Steuerplanung für Zwecke der Quartalsberichterstattung und Mittelfristplanung ein. Die PwC-Experten helfen bei der Konzeption und Einführung dieser Systeme und der Anpassung von Prozessen im Bereich des Tax Accounting.

Derivate

PwC-Experten helfen Unternehmen, die komplexen Bewertungsregeln zu verstehen und sicher anzuwenden. Darüber hinaus unterstützen sie die Auswahl und Einrichtung geeigneter Abläufe und Systeme zur bilanziellen Abbildung (Ansatz und Bewertung) von derivativen Finanzinstrumenten nach IAS 39, insbesondere von Hedge-Accounting. Dieser Prozess berücksichtigt auch Ihre Außendarstellung in Geschäftsberichten, Konzernabschlüssen und sonstigen Medien zur Kommunikation mit Analysten und Investoren.

Pensionen und andere Mitarbeitervergütungsprogramme

Die PwC-Spezialisten unterstützen Unternehmen bei allen Fragestellungen der Bewertung und Bilanzierung von Employee Benefits für die Steuer-, Handels- und internationale Konzernbilanz, besonders bei Umstellungen auf IFRS und US-GAAP. Die Experten analysieren bestehende Versorgungswerke, identifizieren Änderungsbedarf und entwickeln Gestaltungsalternativen unter Berücksichtigung der arbeits-, steuer- und aufsichtsrechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen. Wichtig sind die Auswirkungen, die sich aus der Bewertung und Bilanzierung der Verpflichtungen ergeben.

Die von PwC angewandten Bewertungssystematiken und -methoden sind theoretisch fundiert und in der Praxis erprobt und anerkannt. Das bietet Sicherheit für eine reibungslose Zusammenarbeit mit den Wirtschaftsprüfern und den Aufsichtsbehörden.

Contact us

Klaus Bernhard

Klaus Bernhard

Partner, Deals Accounting & Reporting

Tel.: +49 89 5790-5240

Andreas Mackenstedt

Andreas Mackenstedt

Partner

Tel.: +49 69 9585 5704

Follow us