Our services regarding financial regulations

Banking and insurance regulation, tariff law, cartel regulations and obtaining a majority share during takeovers can take their toll on business workflows. Experts at PwC support banks, financial services institutions, insurance and investment companies in meeting all regulatory guidelines.

Innovative equity and financial products, company takeovers and outsourcing are just a few of the areas covered in the banking and insurance sector. PwC's staff have become expert at doing everything that is legally possible to realise the full potential of these transactions. When banks and insurance companies are planning projects, PwC's specialists carefully analyse them from a regulatory perspective and then suggest various solutions. These services range from providing help with the license application to assistance with company takeovers. The following is a selection from the PwC's network's comprehensive experience:

Going international

German institutions that want to become internationally active - whether inside or outside of the European Economic Area - must comply with both German and local regulations. There may be differences in the effects and interpretation of the two, but both sets of regulations must be complied with. PwC's global network is there to support businesses in doing this - by providing experts to businesses wherever they are located.

Growth market investment funds

PwC's main activities are advisory services and provision of expert opinions, regarding the set up restructuring (mergers, outsourcing, using a master investment management company or Master KAG, etc.) and liquidation of public and special funds and reliability testing of various asset classes and innovative financial products. PwC's experts also support financial institutions in obtaining accreditation for foreign funds and ensuring ongoing compliance with all regulations for foreign UCITS (Undertakings for Collective Investment in Transferable Securities) and Non-UCITS funds (particularly hedge funds and private equity funds). PwC's advisory service on legislative and regulatory guidelines includes open and closed real estate funds and real estate investment trusts (REITs).

Equity/solvency requirements

They also draw up sample accounts showing the quantitative effects and investigate existing processes and controls - particularly in the area of risk management. A target-performance analysis is conducted using a database tool and is key in enabling our staff to address any unresolved issues in the project plan. They also provide support in its design, implementation and quality assurance as well as during the self-assessment required by the Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin). PwC also promotes exchange of specialist knowledge, undertakes project management and interfaces with other areas such as conversion to international financial reporting standards (IFRS). In the final stage of the project PwC's experts assist with the approval audit of the internal rating system by the Financial Supervisory Authority. 

PwC's experts present the requirements under Basel II or Solvency II to credit banks and insurance companies on an individual basis.

What does corporate governance involve for a company's supervisory board?

Increasingly, new rules on corporate governance are affecting non-listed companies as well, and their supervisory boards must take this into account. What does this mean in practice? What liability does a board member actually have? What are his rights and responsibilities? PwC's specialists discuss and answer precisely these questions through seminars and individually tailored workshops for supervisory boards.

Securities trading

Expertise in compliance issues cannot be provided off the shelf.

As a leading auditing services company in market regulation, PwC provides innovative and individual solutions to issues in securities transactions, especially those involving the German Securities Trading Act (WpHG) and investment law.

We offer solutions that emphasise issues of investor protection and the integrity of capital markets at national and international level. PwC's experts ensure that businesses meet current requirements and are kept up-to-date with the rapidly changing legal situation, for example the EU Directive on Markets in Financial Instruments (MiFID).

Money laundering and fraud prevention

Our team consists of experienced risk specialists such as auditors, legal advisors and economic informatics experts, and also includes former police detectives, public prosecutors and corporate crime experts. Working together, they prepare risk analyses which inform clients' strategies to prevent fraud and money-laundering and to be alert to it early on. PwC's specialists review processes and make a substantiated assessment of the prevention measures in place to protect both assets and reputation, avoid legal penalties and increase public confidence in the company.

Benefiting from US withholding tax

A dual taxation agreement can have advantages: US citizens may be able to avoid payments by filing the appropriate tax declaration. The US tax authorities have given various opportunities to foreign banks and PwC's advisory services aim to present the advantages and disadvantages of each option for the client and to develop proposals on how to implement them correctly.

Contact us

Ullrich Hartmann

Risk & Regulation Leader

Tel: +49 69 9585-2115

Follow us

Beratung bei und Prüfung von finanzaufsichtsrechtlichen Projekten

Banken- und Versicherungsaufsicht, Tarifrecht, kartellrechtliche Regelungen und die Mehrheitsfindung bei Übernahmen können sich auf Unternehmensabläufe auswirken. Experten von PwC unterstützen Kreditinstitute, Finanzdienstleistungsinstitute, Versicherungsunternehmen sowie Kapitalanlagegesellschaften bei der Erfüllung aller aufsichtsrechtlichen Vorgaben.

Innovative Eigenkapital- und Finanzprodukte, Unternehmensübernahmen und Auslagerungen sind nur ein kleiner Ausschnitt der Aktivitäten im Banken- und Versicherungssektor. PwC-Mitarbeiter sind darauf spezialisiert, im Rahmen der gesetzlichen Möglichkeiten alle Potenziale aus diesen Transaktionen zu schöpfen. So begutachten PwC-Spezialisten die Vorhaben von Kreditinstituten und Versicherungen aus aufsichtsrechtlicher Sicht und zeigen Lösungen auf. Dabei reichen die Dienstleistungen von der Hilfestellung beim Erlaubnisantrag bis hin zur Begleitung von Unternehmensübernahmen. Hierzu ein Ausschnitt aus dem umfangreichen Erfahrungsschatz des PwC-Verbundes:

Gang ins Ausland

Institute, die im Ausland – sei es im europäischen Wirtschaftsraum oder im Drittlandsgebiet – tätig werden wollen, müssen deutsche, aber auch lokale Rechtsvorschriften befolgen. Deren Wirkung und Auslegung unterscheiden sich in der Regel und müssen gleichermaßen erfüllt werden. Kundige Experten aus dem weltweiten PwC-Verbund unterstützen die Unternehmen vor Ort.

Wachstumsmarkt Investmentfonds

Die Beratung und Erstellung von Stellungnahmen beim Auflegen, Umstrukturieren (etwa Verschmelzung, Outsourcing, Master-KAG-Konzept) sowie Auflösen von Publikums- und Spezialfonds und die Prüfung der Zulässigkeit diverser Vermögens-Klassen und innovativer Finanzprodukte zählen zu den Tätigkeitsschwerpunkten von PwC. Darüber hinaus unterstützen die PwC-Experten Finanzinstitute bei der Vertriebszulassung und der fortlaufenden Einhaltung aller Anforderungen (Ongoing Compliance) ausländischer UCITS (Undertakings for Collective Investment in Transferable Securities) und Non-UCITS Fonds (insbesondere Hedgefonds und Private Equity Fonds). Der PwC-Service, die Beratung über gesetzgeberische und aufsichtsrechtliche Vorgaben, umfasst offene und geschlossene Immobilienfonds sowie Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITs).

Eigenkapital-/Solvabilitätsvorschriften

Die Experten von PwC erstellen Proberechnungen zu quantitativen Auswirkungen und untersuchen bestehende Prozesse und Kontrollen – insbesondere im Risikomanagement. Mit einem datenbankbasierten Instrument nehmen sie eine Soll-Ist-Analyse vor, überführen die offenen Punkte in einen Projektplan und unterstützen bei Konzeptionierung, Umsetzung und Qualitätssicherung sowie bei der von der Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht geforderten Selbsteinschätzung. Darüber hinaus fördert PwC den Austausch von Fachwissen, übernimmt das Projektmanagement, berücksichtigt Schnittstellen zu anderen Bereichen wie die Umstellung auf die internationale Rechnungslegung (IFRS). In der letzten Projektphase begleiten die PwC-Experten die Zulassungsprüfung des internen Ratingsystems durch die Finanzaufsicht.

PwC-Experten bereiten die Vorschriften zu Basel II oder Solvency II für Kreditinstitute und Versicherungen individuell auf.

Corporate Governance - Was bedeutet das für einen Aufsichts- bzw. Verwaltungsrat?

Aufsichts- und Verwaltungsräte auch nicht börsennotierter Unternehmen können sich immer weniger den neuen Corporate-Governance-Regeln entziehen. Was bedeutet dies konkret in der Praxis? Welchen Haftungsrisiken ist ein Gremienmitglied eigentlich ausgesetzt? Worin bestehen seine Rechte und Pflichten? Durch Seminare und individuell zugeschnittene Workshops für Aufsichts- und Verwaltungsräte diskutieren und beantworten PwC-Spezialisten genau diese Fragen.

Wertpapiergeschäft

Als führende Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft auf dem Feld der Marktaufsicht bietet PwC innovative und individuelle Lösungen zu Fragen des Wertpapiergeschäfts mit den Schwerpunkten Depot- und Wertpapierhandelsgesetz sowie Investmentrecht.

Compliance-Expertise gibt es nicht von der Stange.

Das Produktangebot legt Gewicht auf Fragen des Anlegerschutzes und der Integrität der Kapitalmärkte – auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene. PwC-Experten stellen sicher, dass die Unternehmen auf dem neuesten Stand der sich schnell ändernden Gesetzeslage, zum Beispiel der Finanzmarktrichtlinie (MiFID) bleiben und den aktuellen Anforderungen genügen.

Geldwäsche- und Betrugsprävention

Zu den PwC-Spezialisten zählen neben Wirtschaftsprüfern, Juristen und Wirtschaftsinformatikern auch ehemalige Kriminalbeamte, Staatsanwälte und Wirtschaftskriminalitätsexperten. Gemeinsam erstellen sie unternehmensspezifische Gefährdungsanalysen, die in mandantengerechte Strategien zur Bekämpfung von Geldwäsche sowie betrügerischer Handlungen münden. Das Ziel: Betrug zu vermeiden und frühzeitig Hinweise darauf zu erhalten. Die PwC-Spezialisten überprüfen Prozesse und geben ein fundiertes Urteil über die Maßnahmen zur Vorbeugung ab – zum Schutz des Vermögens, der Reputation, vor gesetzlichen Sanktionen und zur Vertrauensbildung in der Öffentlichkeit.

Vorteile bei der US-Quellensteuer ausnutzen

Ein Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen hat Vorteile: US-Personen können bei Abgabe entsprechender Steuererklärungen Zahlungen vermeiden. Die US-Finanzbehörde hat den ausländischen Kreditinstituten verschiedene Möglichkeiten eröffnet. Die PwC-Beratung zielt darauf ab, die jeweiligen Vor- und Nachteile aus Sicht des Mandanten aufzuzeigen und Vorschläge für eine adäquate Umsetzung zu erarbeiten.

Contact us

Ullrich Hartmann

Partner

Tel.: +49 69 9585 2115

Follow us