Private Equity Trend Report 2020

PwC-Study 2020: European PE continues on a high level – with increasing competition

Your expert for questions

Steve Roberts
Partner, Private Equity Leader, PwC Germany
Tel.: +49 69 9585-1950
E-Mail

From boom to normality

In 2019, the number of private equity transactions in Europe remained at a very high level. Private equity (PE) is moving from boom to normality, because it generally meets investors' expectations. One of the consequences is an increasingly fierce competition for the most attractive deals. The latest "Private Equity Trend Report 2020" by the auditing and consulting firm PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) analyses the most important industry developments in the European PE market. 250 European financial investors took part in our survey.

Download Study (PDF, 1,2 MB)

Overview of the study

Mega deals lead to high buyout volume

In 2019, a total of 2,515 company acquisitions and sales with PE participation took place in Europe. The transaction volume was 260 billion euros – almost as much as in the record year 2018 (262.1 billion euros). In particular, the number of buyouts rose sharply by 26 percent to 1,973 deals with a total value of EUR 200.7 billion (+15 percent). The main reason for this is the increasing number of mega deals, i.e. transactions worth more than one billion euros. 47 such deals were made in 2019.

In the same period, only 945 exits took place – exactly the same number as in 2018, with the figure falling by 13.3 percent to EUR 121 billion, the lowest level since 2013.

Competition for the best deals is getting tougher

€2.3 trillion is currently estimated to be the uninvested PE capital in Europe. This large amount of “dry powder” leads to increased competition for the most attractive investment targets; two thirds (66 percent) of the financial investors surveyed named this as the greatest challenge (42 percent: “competition increased slightly”, 24 percent: “competition increased significantly”). The respondents therefore also expect that there will be more PE houses in the next three years.

“The overabundance of dry powder we are currently observing usually leads to higher prices and lower investment returns. But the increasingly fierce competition for takeover targets is accompanied by PE investors setting ambitious plans and targets for the acquired companies and implementing them during the holding period and so driving value creation, which in turn drive returns.”

Steve Roberts, Private Equity Leader, PwC Germany

Germany makes it top of the list for PE houses in 2020

PwC also asked the financial investors what consequences they expect for the European PE market from Brexit. 6 out of 10 financial investors said that the UK's exit from the EU made the country less attractive for PE investments (39 per cent: "Brexit has no impact", 1 per cent: "Brexit makes UK more attractive for PE investments"). On the other hand, almost a third (32 per cent) of respondents felt that Brexit made the other EU countries more attractive.

Germany, in particular, will become the focus of European PE houses in 2020: 46 percent see it as the most attractive country for PE investments – and by far: In second place, the respondents named Sweden (13 percent), followed by the Netherlands and the Czech Republic (nine percent each).

Methodology

250 european financial sponsors took part in the survey. Job titles include partner and managing director. 14% of these funds are based in Germany and 14% in Benelux
countries, with the remaining 72% based elsewhere in Europe. All PE firms of respondents had a minimum of €250m of assets under management.

“In the past, the strong German SMCs, the Mittelstand, has been rather hesitant to sell to private equity. However, scepticism is disappearing more and more, so that many investors are looking for long-term investments in companies with a high level of industry expertise.”

Steve Roberts,Private Equity Leader, PwC Germany

Contact us

Steve Roberts

Steve Roberts

Partner, Private Equity Leader, PwC Germany

Tel: +49 69 9585-1950

Elena Naydenova

Elena Naydenova

Head of PE Business Development, PwC Germany

Tel: +49 69 9585-6731

Follow us

Private Equity Trend Report 2020

PwC-Studie 2020: Private Equity in Europa zeigt ein anhaltend hohes Niveau bei zunehmendem Wettbewerb

Ihr Experte für Fragen

Steve Roberts
Partner, Leiter Private Equity bei PwC Deutschland
Tel.: +49 69 9585-1950
E-Mail

Vom Boom zur Normalität

2019 blieb die Zahl der Transaktionen mit Private-Equity-Beteiligung in Europa auf sehr hohem Niveau. Klar ist inzwischen: Private Equity (PE) entwickelt sich vom Boom zur Normalität, vor allem weil die Finanzierungsform die Erwartungen von Investoren erfüllt. Eine der Folgen ist ein zunehmend harter Wettbewerb der PE-Häuser um die attraktivsten Deals. Die wichtigsten Branchenentwicklungen des europäischen PE-Markts analysiert der aktuelle „Private Equity Trend Report 2020“ der Wirtschaftsprüfungs- und Beratungsgesellschaft PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC).

Download Studie (PDF, 1,2 MB, englisch)

Die Studie im Überblick

Hohes Buyout-Volumen dank Mega-Deals

2019 fanden in Europa insgesamt 2.515 Unternehmenskäufe und -verkäufe mit PE-Beteiligung statt. Das sind 16 Prozent mehr als 2018. Das Transaktionsvolumen betrug 260 Milliarden Euro – fast genauso viel wie im Rekordjahr 2018 (262,1 Milliarden Euro). Insbesondere die Zahl der Buyouts hat kräftig zugelegt, und zwar um 26 Prozent auf 1.973 Deals im Gesamtwert von 200,7 Milliarden Euro (+15 Prozent). Der Hauptgrund dafür ist die zunehmende Zahl an Mega-Deals, also Transaktionen in Höhe von mehr als einer Milliarde Euro. 47 solcher Deals gab es 2019.

Im selben Zeitraum fanden lediglich 945 Exits statt – exakt dieselbe Anzahl wie 2018. Deren Wert fiel dabei um 13,3 Prozent auf 121 Milliarden Euro, den niedrigsten Stand seit 2013.

Der Wettbewerb um die besten Deals wird härter

2,3 Billionen Euro beträgt Schätzungen zufolge derzeit das nicht-investierte PE-Kapital in Europa. Das führt zu verstärktem Wettbewerb um geeignete Investitionsziele – dies nannten zwei Drittel (66 Prozent) der befragten Finanzinvestoren als größte Herausforderung (42 Prozent: „etwas härterer Wettbewerb“, 24 Prozent: „deutlich härter Wettbewerb“). Daher rechnen die Befragten auch damit, dass es in den kommenden drei Jahren mehr PE-Häuser geben wird.

„Ein Überschuss an Dry Powder, wie wir ihn derzeit beobachten, führt normalerweise zu höheren Preisen und geringeren Renditen. Aber der zunehmend härtere Kampf um Übernahmeziele führt dazu, dass sich die PEHäuser ambitionierte Pläne und Ziele für die gekauften Unternehmen setzen und diese in der jeweils festgelegten Haltedauer auch erfüllen.“

Steve Roberts, Leiter Private Equity bei PwC Deutschland

Deutschland steht bei PE-Häusern 2020 ganz oben auf der Liste

PwC hat die Finanzinvestoren auch danach gefragt, welche Folgen sie für den europäischen PE-Markt durch den Brexit erwarten. 6 von 10 Finanzinvestoren sagten, dass der EU-Austritt Großbritanniens das Land weniger attraktiv für PE-Investments mache (39 Prozent: „Brexit hat keine Auswirkungen“, 1 Prozent: „Brexit macht UK attraktiver für PE-Investments“). Auf der anderen Seiten war beinahe ein Drittel (32 Prozent) der Befragten der Ansicht, dass die übrigen EU-Staaten durch den Brexit an Attraktivität gewinnen.

Vor allem Deutschland rückt 2020 in den Fokus der europäischen PE-Häuser: 46 Prozent sehen in der Bundesrepublik das attraktivste Land für Unternehmenskäufe und -verkäufe – und zwar mit Abstand: An zweiter Stelle nannten die Befragten Schweden (13 Prozent), auf den dritten Platz kamen die Niederland und die Tschechische Republik (je neun Prozent).

Die Methodik

Die Studie basiert auf einer Befragung von 250 europäischen PE-Investoren zu den wichtigsten Branchentrends.

„Der starke deutsche Mittelstand war in der Vergangenheit eher zögerlich beim Thema Private Equity. Doch die Skepsis verfliegt mehr und mehr, sodass viele Investoren nach langfristigen Investments in Unternehmen mit hoher Branchenexpertise Ausschau halten.“

Steve Roberts,Leiter Private Equity bei PwC Deutschland

Interview

Deutschland steht bei den europäischen Private-Equity-Häusern 2020 ganz oben auf der Liste

Ein Interview mit Steve Roberts, Leiter Private Equity bei PwC Deutschland. Der europäische PrivateEquity-Markt blieb 2019 auf sehr hohem Niveau – bei der Anzahl der Deals waren es sogar mehr als im Rekordjahr 2018. Das zeigt der aktuelle „Private Equity Trend Report 2020“ der Wirtschaftsprüfungs- und Beratungsgesellschaft PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC). Vor allem die Zahl der Buyouts hat im vergangenen Jahr zugelegt. Woran das liegt und welche weiteren Entwicklungen die Branche prägen, erklärt Steve Roberts, Leiter Private Equity bei PwC Deutschland.

Mehr erfahren

Contact us

Steve Roberts

Steve Roberts

Partner, Leiter Private Equity, PwC Germany

Tel.: +49 69 9585-1950

Elena Naydenova

Elena Naydenova

Head of PE Business Development, PwC Germany

Tel.: +49 69 9585-6731

Follow us