Digital tax inspection and the German Principles of Data Access and the Auditability of Digital Records (GDPdU)

In carrying out an external tax inspection (company audit) or a search of company premises for VAT purposes, the tax office may consult your company’s electronic accounting data and study this data closely and efficiently using appropriate software.

The tax authorities have far-reaching access rights in respect of your company data here. As well as having direct access (Z1) and indirect access (Z2) to the taxpayer’s computer system, the tax authorities can also demand that all tax-relevant data be handed over (Z3) on a data carrier (CD/DVD). The rules governing the powers of the tax authorities are set out in detail in the German Principles of Data Access and the Auditability of Digital Records (GDPdU), a set of administrative instructions issued by the German Federal Ministry of Finance in 2001.

If you are unable to provide the data demanded during the company audit within a reasonable time or if the accounting data are held on a server outside Germany without prior consent having been given, then the tax authorities may levy a default penalty of up to EUR 250,000.

As can be seen from the PwC study entitled “Digitale Steuerprüfung: Herausforderung oder Erleichterung?” (“Digital tax inspection: help or hindrance?”), the tax authorities now make use of their right to access data in the vast majority of company audits, and the trend is rising. It is therefore becoming increasingly important for companies to prepare for the demands of digital auditing in good time.

The expertise and experience of PwC mean that your company can be fully prepared and supported in all aspects of digital auditing. With our GDPdU specialists Heiko Schäfer and Dr Tobias Taetzner, the team of experts at PwC has the skills and ability to help your company in any audit and ensure that it meets all compliance requirements.

Our comprehensive service is tailored to your individual requirements:

Data & systems

Identification: Do you know your tax-relevant data?

The tax authorities may only demand access to tax-relevant data. This data should therefore be identified and segregated in advance because, without a clear division, there is the risk that data that are protected under other legislation (e.g. the German Federal Data Protection Act) or that should not in principle be made accessible to the auditor for other reasons will be used. “Isolating” the tax-relevant data in this way ensures that data that are not subject to data access requirements are not used.

Data storage: Is electronic usability guaranteed?

Tax-relevant data have to be stored for the statutory archiving period of at least 6 or 10 years in electronically usable form. When making changes to an IT landscape (e.g. retiring old systems or implementing new ones), it is necessary to ensure that usability is not restricted. We will help you identify the best possible solution for long-term archiving at your company and ensure effective electronic usability of data to the minimum degree required by law.

Documentation: Is your system documented?

The tax office may ask to see the documentation for your systems and procedures. We will help you document your systems and procedures efficiently and thereby meet your duties under commercial and tax law.

Data access: Do you have a plan for ensuring data access?

When carrying out an audit, the tax office can use all three forms of access together. We will help you provide Z1, Z2 and Z3 access for all tax-relevant systems. Appropriate permission planning ensures that access is restricted to tax-relevant data for the audit period in question.

Preparation for and assistance with digital audits

GDPdU-readiness: Are you ready for the digital audit?

Our GDPdU-readiness check provides you with a meaningful and objective assessment of the GDPdU measures you have taken to ensure the successful handling of digital audits. Our comprehensive analyses and clear recommendations will help you draw up a targeted GDPdU strategy, address any weaknesses in your processes and computer systems more efficiently, and reduce risks. You will then be as well prepared as you can be for any future digital audit.

Function test: Can your company provide the tax-relevant data required?

Given the computer systems used at your premises and the general technical capabilities available, our experts will assess how your company can provide for the forms of access needed. This examination will ensure that the technical requirements for data export are also met. Your company will therefore be operating properly and will be able to respond adequately to the audit.

Completeness test: Can your company supply all of the tax-relevant data required?

The exported data are checked for completeness by our experts. To do this we use the data analysis software IDEA, which is also used by the tax authorities. This avoids the need for protracted inquiries, prevents technical difficulties and speeds up the auditing process.

Data analysis: What can the auditor discern from your data?

Working closely with your company, we carry out standard tax assessments and general assessments. The comprehensive data analysis carried out by our specialists makes it easier for you to estimate the consequences of the audit and avoid any unexpected outcomes.

Relocating accounting operations

Accounting abroad: Have you taken appropriate account of the GDPdU?

When moving accounting data abroad, it is particularly important to ensure that the data can be accessed. There is the risk that consent to the relocation previously granted by the tax authorities will be withdrawn. We will assist you in all phases of a move, from requesting the necessary consent to proving that the legal conditions for the move have permanently been met.

What are the advantages and benefits to you?

  • Only those data for which a duty of disclosure exists are made accessible to the auditor
  • Guarantee that data can be accessed at any time and hence avoidance of default penalties
  • Support before, during and after the audit
  • Implementation and documentation of provision processes and technical implementation
  • Transparency as regards the technical options in digital auditing
  • Security in relation to detection risk resulting from digital auditing
  • No nasty surprises through regular analysis of electronic data
  • Opportunity to address problems recognized
  • Reduced audit times and improving the general climate of the audit
  • More efficient use of company resources

Contact us

Dr. Tobias Taetzner
Partner
Tel: +49 69 9585-6156
Email

Heiko Schäfer
Partner
Tel: +49 69 9585-6227
Email

Digitale Steuerprüfung – GDPdU

Sowohl im Rahmen einer steuerlichen Außenprüfung (Betriebsprüfung) als auch im Rahmen einer Umsatzsteuer-Nachschau kann das Finanzamt auf die elektronischen Buchhaltungsdaten Ihres Unternehmens zurückgreifen und diese mit Hilfe von geeigneter Software intensiv und effizient analysieren.

Die Finanzverwaltung hat dabei weitgehende Zugriffsrechte auf Ihre Unternehmensdaten. Neben dem direkten Zugriff (Z1) und dem indirekten Zugriff (Z2) über das EDV-System des Steuerpflichtigen können die Finanzbehörden auch die Herausgabe aller steuerlich relevanten Daten (Z3) auf einem Datenträger (CD/DVD) fordern. Detailliert geregelt sind die Befugnisse der Finanzverwaltung in den Grundsätzen zum Datenzugriff und zur Prüfbarkeit digitaler Unterlagen (GDPdU), einer Verwaltungsanweisung des Bundesfinanzministeriums aus dem Jahr 2001.

Können die von der Betriebsprüfung angeforderten Daten nicht in angemessener Zeit von Ihnen zur Verfügung gestellt werden oder werden die Buchhaltungsdaten ohne vorherige Genehmigung auf einem Server außerhalb Deutschlands gehostet, kann die Finanzverwaltung ein Verzögerungsgeld von bis zu 250.000 Euro festsetzen.

Wie die PwC Studie "Digitale Steuerprüfung: Herausforderung oder Erleichterung?" zeigt, macht die Finanzbehörde von der Möglichkeit des Datenzugriffs inzwischen in der überwiegenden Mehrheit der Betriebsprüfungen Gebrauch, Tendenz steigend. Damit wird es für Unternehmen immer wichtiger, sich rechtzeitig auf die Anforderungen der digitalen Betriebsprüfung vorzubereiten.

Die Expertise und Erfahrung von PwC ermöglicht Ihrem Unternehmen eine optimale Vorbereitung und Begleitung bei allen Belangen der digitalen Betriebsprüfung. Die PwC-Expertenteams um die GDPdU-Spezialisten Heiko Schäfer und Dr. Tobias Taetzner verfügen über Kompetenzen und Kapazitäten, um Ihrem Unternehmen die Betriebsprüfung wesentlich zu erleichtern und den Compliance Anforderungen gerecht zu werden.

Unser umfassendes Leistungsangebot wird individuell auf Ihre Bedürfnisse angepasst.

Daten & Systeme

Identifikation: Kennen Sie Ihre steuerrelevanten Daten?

Die Finanzbehörde darf den Zugriff nur auf steuerrelevante Daten verlangen. Daher sollten diese im Vorfeld identifiziert und separiert werden, denn ohne eine klare Trennung besteht das Risiko einer Verwertung von Daten, die nach anderen Gesetzen (beispielsweise dem Bundesdatenschutzgesetz) schützenswert sind oder die dem Prüfer aus anderen Gründen nicht zugänglich gemacht werden sollen. Eine so angelegte "Isolation" der steuerrelevanten Daten stellt sicher, dass eine Auswertung von Daten vermieden wird, die nicht den Anforderungen des Datenzugriffs unterliegen.

Datenhaltung: Ist die elektronische Auswertbarkeit gewährleistet?

Die steuerrelevanten Daten müssen während des steuergesetzlichen Aufbewahrungszeitraums von mindestens sechs beziehungsweise zehn Jahren in elektronisch auswertbarer Form aufbewahrt werden. Bei Änderungen in der IT-Landschaft (etwa die Abschaltung alter oder Einführung neuer Systeme) ist sicherzustellen, dass die Auswertungsmöglichkeiten nicht eingeschränkt werden. Wir unterstützen Sie dabei, die für Ihr Unternehmen bestmögliche Lösung zur langfristigen Aufbewahrung zu identifizieren und die elektronische Auswertbarkeit der Daten im gesetzlich geforderten Mindestumfang effizient zu gewährleisten.

Dokumentation: Ist Ihr System dokumentiert?

Das Finanzamt darf Ihre System- und Verfahrensdokumentation anfordern. Mit unserer Hilfe werden Ihre Systeme- und Verfahren effizient dokumentiert und so Ihre handelsrechtlichen und steuergesetzlichen Pflichten erfüllt.

Datenzugriff: Haben Sie ein Konzept zur Sicherstellung des Datenzugriffs?

Das Finanzamt kann im Rahmen einer Prüfung kumulativ von allen drei Zugriffsarten Gebrauch machen. Wir unterstützen Sie dabei, für alle steuerlich relevanten Systeme einen Zugriff im Wege der Z1, Z2 und Z3 zu ermöglichen. Geeignete Berechtigungskonzepte stellen sicher, dass der Zugriff nur auf steuerrelevante Daten des Prüfungszeitraumes möglich ist.

Vorbereitung auf und Begleitung bei der digitalen BP

GDPdU-Readiness: Sind Sie bereit für die digitale Betriebsprüfung?

Unser GDPdU-ReadinessCheck liefert Ihnen eine aussagekräftige und objektive Bewertung Ihrer durchgeführten GDPdU-Maßnahmen, um im Bereich der digitalen Betriebsprüfung erfolgreich zu agieren. Dank unserer umfassenden Analysen und klaren Handlungsempfehlungen können Sie Ihre GDPdU-Strategie gezielter ausrichten, eventuelle Schwachstellen in den Prozessen und EDV-Systemen effizienter beheben und Risiken reduzieren. So sind Sie auf Ihre zukünftige digitale Betriebsprüfung bestens vorbereitet.

Funktionstest: Kann Ihr Unternehmen die steuerrelevanten Daten bereitstellen?

Unter Berücksichtigung der bei Ihnen eingesetzten EDV-Systeme und der allgemeinen technischen Möglichkeiten wird von unseren Experten beurteilt, wie Ihr Unternehmen die geforderten Zugriffsarten bereitstellen kann. Durch diese Prüfung wird sichergestellt, dass die technischen Voraussetzungen auch für einen Datenexport erfüllt sind. Ihr Unternehmen verhält sich dadurch regelgerecht und kann adäquat auf die Betriebsprüfung reagieren.

Vollständigkeitstest: Kann Ihr Unternehmen die steuerrelevanten Daten vollständig liefern?

Die exportierten Daten werden von unseren PwC-Experten auf Vollständigkeit geprüft. Dabei wird die Datenanalysesoftware IDEA verwendet, die auch bei der Finanzverwaltung zur Anwendung kommt. Hierdurch werden langwierige Rückfragen und technische Schwierigkeiten vermieden und der Ablauf der Betriebsprüfung beschleunigt.

Datenanalyse: Was kann der Betriebsprüfer aus den Ihren Daten herauslesen?

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit Ihrem Unternehmen werden steuerliche Standardauswertungen und themenübergreifende Auswertungen vorgenommen. Die umfassende Datenanalyse unserer Spezialisten erleichtert es Ihnen, die Konsequenzen der Betriebsprüfung einzuschätzen und unerwartete Ergebnisse der Betriebsprüfung zu vermeiden.

Verlagerung der Buchführung

Buchhaltung im Ausland: Haben Sie die GDPdU angemessen berücksichtigt?

Bei einer Verlagerung von Buchhaltungsdaten ins Ausland kommt der Sicherstellung des Datenzugriffes eine besondere Bedeutung zu. Es besteht das Risiko eines Widerrufs einer von den Finanzbehörden zuvor gewährten Genehmigung zur Verlagerung. Wir begleiten Sie in allen Phasen einer Verlagerung - von der Beantragung der erforderlichen Genehmigung bis zum Nachweis, dass die gesetzlichen Voraussetzungen für die Verlagerung nachhaltig erfüllt werden.

Was sind Ihre Vorteile und Ihr Nutzen?

  • Nur die Daten werden dem Prüfer zugänglich gemacht, für die eine Vorlagepflicht besteht
  • Gewährleistung des jederzeitigen Datenzugriffs und damit Vermeidung von Verzögerungsgeldern
  • Betreuung vor, während und nach der Betriebsprüfung
  • Implementierung und Dokumentation von Bereitstellungsprozessen sowie die technische Umsetzung
  • Transparenz hinsichtlich der technischen Möglichkeiten der digitalen Betriebsprüfung
  • Sicherheit bezüglich Entdeckungsrisiken durch digitale Betriebsprüfung
  • Keine Überraschungen durch regelmäßige Analyse der elektronischen Daten
  • Chance zu Korrekturmaßnahmen von erkannten Problemen
  • Verkürzung der Prüfungsdauer und Verbesserung des allgemeinen Prüfungsklimas
  • Effizienter Umgang mit den Ressourcen Ihres Unternehmens

Contact us

Prof. Dr. Tobias Taetzner

Partner

Tel.: +49 69 9585-6156

Heiko Schäfer

Partner

Tel.: +49 69 9585-6227

Follow us