Occupational pensions – pension consulting

In the face of demographic change and skills shortages, the part of compensation represented by an occupational pension takes on great significance. Many companies offer a range of pension plan models. The German occupational pension system is characterised by a high degree of diversity that enables specifically tailored solutions. But this makes it all the more complex. PwC’s Pension Consulting business unit guides companies through the maze of occupational pensions.

Given the increased competition for qualified staff, companies have begun to view pension plans as a competitive advantage. Of course, no employee will opt for new employer just because of the pension plan, but a company might be at a disadvantage with no plan or an unattractive or non-transparent model. In the competition for labour, particularly in view of demographic trends, this is an important issue. Many companies are thus establishing new models or restructuring their existing pension commitments. Determining which structure is the most appropriate depends largely on each company’s circumstances. Through individual meetings and workshops, PwC’s experts form a needs profile with regard to the future design of the occupational pension plan. It takes into account both human resources and financial considerations. On this basis, PwC develops a concept for the future design of the occupational pension plan.

The following questions, among others, are addressed during this process:

  • Defined-contribution plan or defined-benefit plan?
  • Link pension provisions to the performance of securities, or not?
  • Deferred compensation, employer-based or mixed-financing system?
  • Lump-sum versus annuity payments?
  • Old-age, survivors and/or disability benefits?
  • External funding or internal book reserve financing?
  • Internal versus external vehicle?
  • In-house or outsourced administration?
  • Requirements from partners/investors?
  • International requirements?

Together with experts from other units (eg, PwC Legal), PwC develops the pension commitment based on the findings of the needs profile. PwC also supports presenting the new occupational pension plan (eg, at employee assemblies).

In addition to designing new pension plans, PwC also supports the restructuring of existing pension systems, whether due to substantive changes in a company’s priorities, statutory regulations or for accounting or tax purposes.

This entails consultation on restructuring existing systems, be it through substantive changes to pension plans and/or merging different plans into a unified system (harmonisation). Additionally or alternatively, PwC supports projects around financial outsourcing (eg, to a pension fund) or external funding (eg, through contractual trust arrangements). PwC takes pride in its independence from product interests, especially when it comes to demonstrating the advantages of different solutions.

Projects of this type begin with taking stock (needs profile of the client, an inventory of existing pension systems) and the assessment and evaluation of different solutions, and culminate with management analyses (before and after taxes) of the shortlisted solutions. In collaboration with PwC actuaries and lawyers, actuarial projections, actuarial equivalence calculations (scope of obligations) or pension commitments are developed as needed. During implementation, PwC coordinates with the beneficiaries (for example, with the works councils) and develops a communications strategy. PwC experts can also assume full project management – of course, in constant consultation with the client.

Tax and employment law conditions mean that the occupational pension plan may vary in different countries. Nevertheless, international companies often strive for a uniform pension policy. To that end, PwC’s experts draw on the knowledge accumulated in the international PwC network. With the help of both this network and information technology, PwC ensures that clients’ needs are considered in an international context.

In addition to the project-based activities described above, PwC experts also help with individual tax, accounting or employment law issues – for example, in the case of transactions (due diligence) or secondments.

Contact us

Jürgen Helfen

Partner

Tel: +49 211 981-4362

Dr. Bernd Hackenbroich

Director

Tel: +49 211 981-2882

Follow us

Betriebliche Altersvorsorge – Pension Consulting

View this page in: English

In Zeiten demografischen Wandels und Fachkräftemangels kommt dem Vergütungsbestandteil betriebliche Altersversorgung eine besondere Bedeutung zu. Viele Unternehmen bieten eine Reihe von Versorgungsmodellen an. Die deutsche betriebliche Altersversorgung (bAV) ist durch eine große Vielfalt geprägt, die entsprechende maßgeschneiderte Lösungen ermöglicht. Für Unternehmen ist das Thema entsprechend komplex. Mit dem Bereich Pension Consulting hilft PwC Unternehmen durch das Labyrinth der betrieblichen Altersversorgung.

Der verstärkte Wettbewerb um qualifizierte Mitarbeiter trägt dazu bei, dass Unternehmen in einer attraktiven betrieblichen Altersversorgung einen Wettbewerbsvorteil sehen. Sicher wird kein Mitarbeiter nur wegen einer Betriebsrente zu einem neuen Arbeitgeber wechseln. Fehlt die betriebliche Altersversorgung aber ganz oder haben Unternehmen ein unattraktives oder intransparentes Modell, könnte das ein Nachteil im Wettbewerb um Arbeitskräfte sein, gerade angesichts der demografischen Entwicklung. Viele Unternehmen schaffen daher neue Modelle oder gestalten ihre bestehenden Versorgungszusagen um. Welche Gestaltungsform dabei die passende ist, hängt entscheidend von den individuellen Anforderungen des Unternehmens ab. In Einzelgesprächen und Workshops erarbeiten die PwC-Experten ein Anforderungsprofil im Hinblick auf die künftige Ausrichtung der bAV. Es berücksichtigt sowohl personalwirtschaftliche als auch finanzwirtschaftliche Anforderungen. Ausgehend davon entwickelt PwC ein Konzept für die künftige Ausgestaltung der bAV.

Dabei sind - neben anderen - folgende Fragen zu klären:

  • Beitragsorientierte Zusage oder reine Leistungszusage?
  • Orientierung der Versorgungsleistung an der Performance von Wertpapieren?
  • Entgeltumwandlung, Arbeitgeber- oder mischfinanziertes System?
  • Kapitalleistung versus Rentenzahlung?
  • Alters-, Hinterbliebenen und/oder Invaliditätsabsicherung?
  • Externe Ausfinanzierung oder Nutzung des Innenfinanzierungseffekts von Pensionsrückstellungen?
  • Interner versus externer Durchführungsweg?
  • Interne oder ausgelagerte Administration?
  • Vorgaben von Gesellschaftern/Investoren?
  • Internationale Anforderungen?

In Zusammenarbeit mit Experten aus anderen PwC-Bereichen (zum Beispiel PwC Legal) erarbeitet PwC die Versorgungszusage auf Basis der Erkenntnisse aus dem Anforderungsprofil. Ebenso unterstützt PwC die Kommunikation der neuen bAV (etwa auf Betriebsversammlungen).

Neben der Gestaltung neuer Versorgungspläne unterstützt PwC auch bei der Umgestaltung bestehender Versorgungssysteme, sei es aufgrund veränderter inhaltlicher Vorstellungen des Unternehmens, gesetzlicher Anforderungen oder aus bilanziellen beziehungsweise steuerlichen Gründen.

Dies mündet in der Beratung zur Neuordnung bestehender Systeme, in Form von inhaltlichen Veränderungen von Versorgungsplänen und/oder der Zusammenlegung unterschiedlicher Pläne zu einem einheitlichen System (Harmonisierung). Zusätzlich oder alternativ dazu begleitet PwC Projekte zur bilanziellen Auslagerung (zum Beispiel auf einen Pensionsfonds) oder zur externen Ausfinanzierung (zum Beispiel mittels Contractual Trust Arrangement). Besonders dabei macht sich bemerkbar, dass PwC unabhängig von Produktinteressen arbeitet, vor allem wenn es darum geht, die Vorteile verschiedener Lösungen aufzuzeigen.

Projekte dieser Art beginnen mit einer Bestandsaufnahme (Anforderungsprofil des Mandanten, Inventarisierung der bestehenden Versorgungssysteme), der Abwägung und Bewertung unterschiedlicher Lösungsansätze und münden in betriebswirtschaftliche Analysen (vor und nach Steuern) solcher Lösungsansätze, die in die engere Wahl genommen wurden. In Zusammenarbeit mit PwC-Aktuaren beziehungsweise Anwälten werden bei Bedarf versicherungsmathematische Hochrechnungen, Gegenwertberechnungen (Dotierungsrahmen) beziehungsweise Versorgungszusagen entwickelt. Bei der Umsetzung übernimmt PwC die Abstimmung mit den Begünstigten (zum Beispiel mit dem Betriebsrat) und entwickelt eine Kommunikationsstrategie. Je nach Bedarf übernehmen PwC-Experten die vollständige Projektführung – in laufender Abstimmung mit dem Mandanten.

Die steuerlichen und arbeitsrechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen tragen dazu bei, dass die bAV in verschiedenen Ländern unterschiedlich ausfallen kann. Gleichwohl streben international tätige Konzerne oftmals eine einheitliche Policy für die bAV an. Hierfür greifen die PwC-Experten auf das Wissen im internationalen PwC-Netzwerk zurück. Mit Hilfe dieser Vernetzung und der Informationstechnologie stellt PwC sicher, dass die Anforderungen von Mandanten auf internationaler Ebene berücksichtigt werden.

Ergänzend zu den bereits dargestellten projektorientierten Tätigkeiten helfen PwC-Experten auch bei einzelnen Fragestellungen steuerlicher, bilanzieller oder arbeitsrechtlicher Natur, zum Beispiel bei Transaktionen (Due Diligence) oder Entsendungen.