Market and competition analyses

Only a sound analysis of markets and competitive conditions can turn a good business idea into a promising enterprise. PwC experts help companies by examining and validating business plans, sales forecasts or plans for sourcing raw materials. They can assist companies to assess, and substantiate, the sustainability of business models, the capacity of planned projects and investments’ prospects of success.

Equity financing and debt financing are now almost impossible without comprehensive market and competition analyses. Banks, venture capital companies and other financiers require well-founded and reliable information on the market and competitive situation – as do public authorities, when companies seek to avail of state aid programmes. Last but not least, it takes qualified market analysts to persuade internal boards, such as the shareholder committee.

PwC experts assist companies with their market studies and competition analyses by

  • forecasting future market opportunities
  • validating the sales and revenue planning
  • identifying plans for expanding into new markets
  • verifying sales opportunities, for example following restructuring
  • defining cashflow-based financing structures
  • satisfying the information requirements of financiers such as banks, equity investors, and public aid programmes

In order to validate market opportunities, the various PwC industry experts identify the relevant markets and their sales and export potential both at home and abroad. Among other things, they look at historical market developments, existing market structures, industrial sales expectations and future trends. A large number of experts from PwC’s international network – most of them with practical industry experience – are available to help you determine the key parameters for deducing future market trends.

Based on this analysis, PwC’s specialists will prepare SWOT profiles to highlight strengths and weaknesses against the competition, take account of regulatory, geopolitical and general economic factors and test various events and situations as part of a comprehensive risk and sensitivity analysis. They will also pay attention to spill-over effects from and to other industries.

Contact us

Frank Kathmann

Senior Manager

Tel: +49 30 2636-1326

Follow us

Markt- und Wettbewerbsanalysen

Erst die fundierte Marktanalyse macht eine gute Geschäftsidee zu einem vielversprechenden Vorhaben. PwC-Experten unterstützen Unternehmen bei der Überprüfung und Validierung von Businessplänen, Absatzprognosen und Plänen für den Rohstoffbezug. Mit ihrer Hilfe können Unternehmen die Nachhaltigkeit von Geschäftsmodellen, die Tragfähigkeit geplanter Projekte und die Erfolgsaussichten von Investitionen einschätzen und nachweisen.

Eigen- wie Fremdkapitalfinanzierungen sind ohne umfassende Markt- und Wettbewerbsanalysen kaum noch zu realisieren. Denn Banken, Venture-Capital-Gesellschaften und andere Kapitalgeber fordern fundierte und belastbare Aussagen zur Markt- und Wettbewerbssituation – ebenso auch die öffentliche Hand, wenn staatliche Förderprogramme in Anspruch genommen werden sollen. Und nicht zuletzt müssen interne Gremien, beispielsweise der Gesellschafterausschuss, mit qualifizierten Marktanalysen überzeugt werden.

PwC-Experten helfen Unternehmen mit Marktstudien- und Wettbewerbsanalysen bei

  • der Prognose zukünftiger Marktchancen
  • der Plausibilisierung der Absatz- und Umsatzplanung
  • der Eruierung von Expansionsplänen in neue Märkte
  • dem Nachweis von Absatzchancen, beispielsweise bei Restrukturierungen
  • der Festlegung cashflow-basierter Finanzierungsstrukturen
  • der Befriedigung des Informationsbedarfs von Finanzierungsgebern wie Banken, Eigenkapitalinvestoren, öffentlichen Förderprogrammen

Zur Validierung von Marktchancen identifizieren die verschiedenen PwC-Branchenexperten die relevanten Märkte und deren Absatz- und Exportpotenziale im In- und Ausland. Sie untersuchen unter anderem historische Marktentwicklungen, bestehende Marktstrukturen, industrielle Absatzerwartungen und zukünftige Trends. Für die Bestimmung wesentlicher Parameter zur Herleitung künftiger Marktentwicklungen steht ihnen eine Vielzahl größtenteils industrieerfahrener Experten des internationalen PwC-Netzwerkes zur Verfügung.

Aufbauend darauf erstellen die PwC-Fachleute SWOT-Profile zu Stärken und Schwächen gegenüber der Konkurrenz, berücksichtigen regulatorische, geopolitische und gesamtwirtschaftliche Einflussfaktoren und testen verschiedene Ereignisse und Situationen innerhalb einer umfassenden Risiko- und Sensitivitätsanalyse. Auch Spill-over-Effekte von und zu anderen Branchen haben sie im Blick.

Contact us

Frank Kathmann

Senior Manager

Tel.: +49 30 2636-1326

Follow us