Your Deal is our Deal: Carve-out

A target-oriented approach to complex transactions projects

Carve-outs can be extremely complex, depending on the extent to which the affected business area is embedded. That’s why there are many organisational, legal, tax, technical and financial questions that need to be considered in order to successfully conduct a carve-out.

Our specialised team has decades of experience and supports you in every phase of your carve-out to make sure your company achieves its goals.

Your situation

The level of complexity depends on the level of integration

The decision by many companies to divest an area of their business is often driven by the desire to refocus the attention to the core business and to increase profitability, or meet regulatory requirements. The complexity of the carve-out depends on how deeply the business area is integrated into the rest of the company. Challenges can arise related to organisational, legal, tax, technical and financial structures: How many assets, contracts and employees will the transaction involve? How does the business area fit into the group company? How should the divested company be set up? What are the tax implications? Which one-off and recurring costs are expected? What support will the parent company provide to make sure the divested business area is able to continue to operate smoothly during the transaction (Transition Service Agreements)? Accounting practices also play an important role: What financial information about the divested company has to be made available? Is it possible to present the divested company in a way that shows that it has operated as a stand-alone business in the past? And does this presentation meet regulatory requirements – or the buyer’s expectations?

Our offer

From planning through to implementation – for the seller and the buyer

Our team supports you from initial planning through to project management and successful operating implementation of your carve-out – whether you’re the seller or the buyer. If you’re the seller, we’ll support you in setting out the separation principles at the beginning of the divestment process, and identify carve-out issues and potential added value. The stand-alone concept for the divested business area will be based on these factors, as well as the relevant financial data and tax implications. The implementation of the Day-1 concept will make sure the business model is able to function as soon as the deal is closed. We also support you in preparing financial information on the divested business area. This includes analysing the regulatory requirements and the presentation of the deal in line with IFRS, US GAAP or Chinese GAAP, as well as extracting, processing and analysing data about the business area. If you’re the buyer, we’ll review the acquired business area’s ability to function as a stand-alone, while also identifying value levers, and validating the relevant financial figures and tax implications.

Our promise

The fast route to optimise company value. We believe your deal is our deal. Together, we will make your deal a success – even in times of great change.

Our experts have decades of experience with national and international carve-out projects. PwC’s clients benefit from a fast and secure approach to transactions. With our renowned methods, as well as our modern data and analytics solutions, we make sure you optimise your company’s value.

"Carve-out" is part of our transaction advice. An overview of all our advisory services you can find here.

Contact us

Follow us

Your Deal is our Deal: Carve-out

Komplexe Transaktionsprojekte zielorientiert durchführen

Je nach Integrationsgrad des zu veräußernden Geschäftsbereichs kann ein Carve-out äußerst komplex werden. Für eine erfolgreiche Durchführung gibt es daher zahlreiche organisatorische, rechtliche, technische und finanzielle Fragen, die zu berücksichtigen sind.

Unser spezialisiertes Team greift auf jahrelange Erfahrung zurück und unterstützt Sie in allen Phasen Ihres Carve-outs, damit Sie Ihre Unternehmensziele erreichen.

Ihr Anliegen

Komplexität entspricht dem Integrationsgrad

Viele Unternehmen veräußern Geschäftsbereiche, um sich auf ihr Kerngeschäft zu fokussieren, ihre Profitabilität zu steigern oder regulatorischen Anforderungen gerecht zu werden. Wie komplex ein Carve-out wird, bestimmt der Integrationsgrad des zu veräußernden Bereichs. Die Herausforderungen betreffen zum einen organisatorische, rechtliche, technische und finanzielle Strukturen. Es kommen zahlreiche Fragen auf: Wie viele Vermögenswerte, Verträge und Mitarbeiter umfasst die Transaktion? Wo gibt es Überschneidungen im Unternehmensverbund? Wie soll der herauszulösende Bereich aufgestellt sein? Welche Steuern werden ausgelöst? Welche Stand-alone- und Remanenzkosten entstehen? Und welche Unterstützung stellt die bisherige Muttergesellschaft bereit, damit der Geschäftsbetrieb des zu veräußernden Bereichs während der Transaktion reibungslos weiterläuft (Transition Service Agreements). Zum anderen spielt das Rechnungswesen hierbei eine bedeutende Rolle: Welche Finanzinformationen der zu veräußernden Einheit muss das Unternehmen zur Verfügung stellen? Kann der zu veräußernden Geschäftsbereich so dargestellt werden als hätte er in der Vergangenheit bereits eigenständig operiert? Und entspricht diese Darstellung den regulatorischen Anforderungen oder den Anforderungen des Erwerbers?

Unser Angebot

Von der Planung bis zur Umsetzung für Verkäufer und Käufer

Unser Team unterstützt Sie von der konzeptionellen Planung über das Projekt Management Office bis hin zur erfolgreichen operativen Umsetzung von Carve-outs – egal ob Sie auf der Käufer- oder Verkäuferseite stehen. Sie sind Verkäufer? Dann legen wir zu Beginn des Verkaufsprozesses gemeinsam die Separierungsprinzipien fest, identifizieren Carve-out-Themen und mögliche Wertschöpfungspotenziale. Darauf basieren der Stand-alone-Entwurf des künftig alleinstehenden Unternehmens sowie die Finanzdaten und die steuerlichen Implikationen. Die Implementierung des Day-1-Konzepts gewährleistet, dass das Geschäftsmodell zum Zeitpunkt des Closings funktioniert. Auch unterstützen wir Sie bei der Erstellung der Finanzinformationen für die zu veräußernde Einheit. Dies umfasst neben der Analyse der regulatorischen Anforderungen und der Darstellung der Abschlüsse nach IFRS, US GAAP oder Chinese GAAP auch die Datenextraktion, Datenaufbereitung und Datenanalyse der Teilbereiche. Oder sind Sie Käufer? Dann prüfen wir für Sie unter anderem die Stand-alone-Fähigkeit des Kaufobjekts, ermitteln Werthebel und validieren die Stand-alone-Finanzkennzahlen sowie die steuerlichen Implikationen.

Unser Versprechen

Mit Tempo zum optimierten Unternehmenswert. Für uns gilt: Your Deal is our Deal. Gemeinsam gestalten wir den richtigen Deal für Sie, auch in bewegten Zeiten.

Unsere Experten verfügen über jahrzehntelange Erfahrung in nationalen und länderübergreifenden Carve-out-Projekten. Als PwC-Mandant profitieren Sie von einer hohen Transaktionsgeschwindigkeit bei gleichzeitig hoher Transaktionssicherheit. Mit unseren bewährten Methoden sowie modernen Data & Analytics-Lösungen tragen wir dazu bei, dass Sie Ihren Unternehmenswert optimieren.

„Carve-out“ ist Teil unserer Transaktionsberatung. Eine Übersicht all unserer Beratungsleistungen finden Sie hier.

Contact us

Volker Strack

Partner, Deals Leader Germany, PwC Germany

Tel.: +49 69 9585-1297

Follow us