Business Diligence

Identifying risks and opportunities as early as possible

Both acquisitions and divestments of companies and individual business areas involve risks and opportunities. Every transaction leads to far-reaching changes in the structure and culture of the organisations involved. That’s why it’s extremely important to analyse and evaluate the company that is being targeted for acquisition accurately. Creating transparency about all of the organisational structures and processes involved is a decisive factor in the long-term success of a transaction.

Important questions include: What are the potential deal-breakers? What potential value should be further analysed within the due diligence process and then implemented after the deal? How can buyers and sellers gather, review and analyse data from potential investors or candidates for a takeover or merger as early as possible – and make effective long-term decisions?

Acquisitions, mergers, divestments: All-round excellence for successful transactions

The Due Diligence team at PwC answers your questions and actively helps you with decision-making. We analyse your company’s business-related, legal and tax-related risks and opportunities and the target company’s financial risks and opportunities during M&A transactions. We do this by using the latest digital tools, established methods and comprehensive industry knowledge. This puts us in a position to visualise initial results quickly and provide information about the transaction target. Our clients benefit from the fact that we always use the most up-to-date analytical methods. We provide meaningful analysis that is specifically adapted to your unique situation and that helps you to effectively prepare for your transaction. We can also identify potential value and transaction-related risks as part of a comprehensive business due diligence process, in which several different disciplines work together.

Your Deal is our Deal

We will help you drive growth and secure your future: We accompany you at every stage, and you can access our international network whenever necessary. Our clients know they can rely on us, which is why we’re now one of the world’s leading transaction consultancies. We believe your deal is our deal. Together, we get the right deal for you – even in times of great change.

Commercial Due Diligence

Assessing a company’s readiness for the future

Commercial due diligence is not only about checking the performance of a company in the past – it also systematically analyses the risks and opportunities that a given business model may face in the future. In this way, it provides an assessment of a company’s readiness for the future.

It involves a thorough analysis of a target company before an acquisition, taking into account perspectives from the market through to customers and competitors, and is always closely interconnected with other due diligence disciplines such as financial due diligence, operational due diligence, technology due diligence, legal due diligence and tax-related due diligence. The aim of commercial due diligence is to provide a qualitative and quantitative validation of the Unique Selling Point (USP) and business plan of a company that has been identified as a target for a transaction. This validation is based on a comprehensive analysis of the sustainability of the business model, the market environment, the customer behaviour and the company’s positioning within its current and future market environment. Commercial due diligence forms the foundation for decisions about whether to acquire a company or individual business area.

Proper preparation for the purchasing decision

Our skills and experience cover sell-side and buy-side due diligence. We also have decades of experience in developing organic and inorganic growth strategies, market entry strategies, exit strategies and benchmarking exercises. Our commercial due diligence reports are aimed at financial investors (private equity) as well as companies and their management teams. Financing banks to a transaction also use these reports as evidence for their decision making. This means commercial due diligence plays a vitally important role in supporting the final decisions in making an acquisition or divestment.

Deep industry knowledge to support successful transactions 

Access to the right expert at the right time: Our international team works closely with our colleagues from the Strategy& team to provide our clients with deep and up-to-date industry expertise from across sectors – from the automotive industry through to building, construction, transport and logistics, business services, eCommerce, retail, consumer goods, industrial manufacturing, pharma and life sciences, as well as healthcare, travel, sports leisure, technology, media and telecommunications.
We accompany our clients throughout the entire transaction process and provide the relevant information to support decision-making for their specific transaction. We believe your deal is our deal. Together, we get the right deal for you – even in times of great change.

Financial Due Diligence

Comprehensive analysis to support good decisions

From acquisitions and mergers through to divestments: Thorough due diligence analysis is the foundation of every successful transaction. It aims to identify the financial risks and opportunities – and opens up a range of questions. What is driving the business? How can I find out more about the target company’s operational capacity and its supply chain? Is the business plan realistic? How has its working capital developed in the last few years? And which purchase price adjustments need to be considered?

The PwC team gives you the answers you need. Our financial due diligence covers detailed analysis on accounting and profit and loss, cash flow statements and key operational factors that play an important role in the purchase decision. By delivering analysis that is tailored to your specific situation, we can provide targeted answers to your questions and identify potential value, financial risks or possible deal-breakers at an early stage.

See what’s relevant tomorrow – today: Proper preparation for the purchasing decision

We can work together with you and your team to develop a due diligence plan that is customised to your needs – whether you are a buyer or seller. Our experts accompany you throughout the entire transaction, from process planning through to discussing the final reports with the buyer, seller and investors. Our portfolio for the sell-side includes vendor assistance with Factbook and vendor due diligence. For the buy-side, we support with red-flag reports, buy-side due diligence reports and closing accounts reviews. You can rely on our precise profit and loss calculations, working capital analyses, cash flow statements, and analyses of net debt and quality of earnings. We combine the results of our historical analysis with the results from commercial due diligence and operational due diligence to evaluate the strength of the business plan. Based on a systematic analysis of a company’s value drivers and the recommendations we develop from this analysis, our clients always have all of the information they need. That’s how we generate real added value.

You can also rely on us at further stages in the transaction process: We can show you the effects that the results of our detailed analyses will have on the purchase price negotiations and the Sale and Purchase Agreement (SPA). We also provide clarity about which aspects are most important for potential buyers – particularly for private equity investors or banks. We work closely together with our experts in tax due diligence and legal due diligence, and can access the entire global PwC network at any time. On top of this, we use the latest digital tools and place a strong emphasis on efficient data analysis. Our Data Analytics team is always available to support us by evaluating and visualising complex volumes of data in order to generate the most valuable insights possible. In this way, we make sure that your questions are answered quickly.

Financial transparency from the very beginning: Strategic, thorough and relevant. We help you drive your growth and secure your future

Financial due diligence is the cornerstone of the due diligence process: Our Financial Due Diligence team has decades of experience and deep industry expertise, and always takes a thorough approach to make sure we create a solid foundation for decision-making. After transactions have been completed, we support our clients with any questions they may have about post-merger integration. We’re your partner for every stage in the transaction process. We believe your deal is our deal. Together, we get the right deal for you – even in times of great change.

Contact our expert

Accounting Due Diligence

Analysing and adapting accounting processes

What do companies have to be aware of when analysing the accounting systems and process within the target company before an acquisition? Which changes to the accounting frameworks, systems and processes would be necessary after an acquisition? How will the target company’s processes and systems be integrated once the transaction is complete?

Accounting and process expertise from a single source

Our experts analyse the systems and processes of the target company on your behalf. We can show and explain any necessary changes and provide recommendations for how to make the integration process successful. Our team combines accounting and process expertise with decades of experience from a huge number of M&A projects.

Speed and quality for secure planning

Our clients benefit from our internationally recognised expertise, as well as our rapid analysis and reliable quality. This means they know, at an early stage, what effects the changes to systems or processes will generate. It’s our goal to give you a sense of planning security. We believe your deal is our deal. Together, we get the right deal for you – even in times of great change.

Contact our experts

Tax Due Diligence

Tax-related topics with a significant impact

Identification of tax-related risks and opportunities is an important step during transaction projects. Potential buyers ask themselves a range of questions: Are there material tax-related risks associated with the company targeted for acquisition? Will the transaction trigger transfer taxes? What are the consequences for the transaction structure? Should the buyer take over individual assets or legal relationships from the target company (an asset deal) or purchase shares within a company (a share deal)? What impact do these factors have on the purchase price and purchase contract? During tax due diligence, these questions are examined and tax-related risks are identified. The resulting insights form the basis for an optimal tax structure for the transaction.

Taking the entire transaction process into account

Tax due diligence evaluates the tax-related situation within the target company and provides insights for both buyers and sellers. By providing a comprehensive assessment of any relevant tax risks, effective due diligence makes it possible to reflect these risks at an early stage in the purchase price negotiations, the Sale and Purchase Agreement (SPA) and the transaction structure. Our team can develop an approach to tax due diligence that fits your specific situation. At the same time, we are in constant contact with our colleagues from other due diligence disciplines. Together, we can make sure that all available information is analysed and classified in a thorough and appropriate manner. Our interdisciplinary team of tax consultants, legal experts, auditors and transactions experts supports our clients at every stage in the transaction process – from the purchase decision through to purchase contract negotiations and integration.

All tax-related information from a single source

Our Deals Tax team has the answers to all of your questions. From tax due diligence through to the purchase contract and tax structuring, we support companies and private equity investors throughout the entire transaction process. We can also access PwC’s international network of Deals Tax specialists at any time. As a PwC client, you benefit from our many decades of experience as a leading transaction consultancy. We believe your deal is our deal. Together, we get the right deal for you – even in times of great change.

Contact our experts

Operational Due Diligence

Adding value for your company through operational optimisation

Increasingly dynamic markets, technological transformation and complexity that is consistently rising in M&A transactions are factors that are generating a huge number of questions. Does the Purchasing team work and negotiate professionally? Will the staff and equipment have the capacity to meet the demands of the future? Is the supply chain making the products available reliably? Is there potential to optimise working capital? Are the R&D department and the Production department aligned effectively and managed efficiently? What is the business’s unique selling point? And how solid are the operational figures?

Buyers and sellers have to understand the risks and value drivers for their company’s business activities in detail. It’s particularly important to identify, quantify and prioritise value levers related to transactions. Operational due diligence plays a key role in this respect: It covers analysis and optimisation of production processes and shows development potential in areas including purchasing, production, logistics, sales and R&D.

The right solutions: From experts, for experts

As part of the due diligence process, the PwC team works together with clients to analyse their product and company performance, as well as the related success factors. We also assess whether potential synergies along the value chain have been evaluated in a realistic and comprehensive way. This assessment provides clients with an overview of the strengths and weaknesses within a company’s operational activities, and indicates their impact on the balance sheet. Our aim is to minimise risks, identify potential and take advantage of synergies. Together, we develop an approach based on our clients’ specific requirements – and in the level of detail they want. We provide all of the information they need to make a decision. This includes analysis and results in the form of quick scans, red-flag reports, operational due diligence reports and business transformation concepts. This information helps companies to assess the value of the target company, and also supports them in contract negotiations and when planning integration activities.

Reviewing your operations to strengthen due diligence results and support accurate judgements

Operational due diligence is directly focused on risks and potential improvements within the various areas of a company. It makes sure that these risks and improvements have been evaluated in a realistic and comprehensive manner. Due diligence provides information about the existing strengths and weaknesses within operational areas of a company – and that’s why it has to be very detailed. In this way, we create the maximum level of transparency for the buyer and the seller. In addition, operational due diligence provides starting points for downstream measures. We also accompany our clients’  management teams in planning and implementing specific solutions for efficiency and value creation after the transaction has been completed. Our experts have many decades of experience in transactions and also have technical expertise, industry-specific knowledge and access to an international network. We support our clients in every phase of the transaction process, from evaluating business plans through to conducting expert interviews or visiting production locations. We place a strong emphasis on addressing every individual success factor. We believe your deal is our deal. Together, we help you achieve success with your transaction – even in times of great change.

Contact our expert

Technology Due Diligence

Focusing on the technological aspects of a transaction

Information Technology (IT) is now a value factor in and of itself. Increasing digitisation is making IT a key driver of sustainable business development. For almost all transactions, separating or integrating IT functions is one of the largest challenges companies face. As a result, detailed technology due diligence is now essential. There is often a lack of transparency about exactly how processes are supported by IT. Which systems are included in the IT landscape? Can the systems be integrated or are they now redundant? What are the key factors when it comes to an IT carve-out or IT integration? What are the costs and risks related to IT interfaces? Does the company have the necessary resources to successfully implement the business strategy – or the digitisation strategy?

Estimating the necessary investment sums and future cost scenarios

In Phase 1, the PwC team creates a red-flag report within a short timeframe and identifies potential deal-breakers for you. We then conduct comprehensive technology due diligence – and in this, understanding the IT landscape plays an important role. For both buyers and sellers, this involves relevant IT solutions for your transaction, which covers applications, infrastructure, security, projects and finance. We identify and evaluate risks in the existing IT setup with a focus on current and future business requirements. We draw on our comprehensive experience to assess the costs and potential opportunities associated with a specific carve-out or integration project, and provide all of the information you need. We also support our clients in evaluating the IT capabilities of their target company in comparison to competitors. This analysis always emphasises understanding the value contributed by IT, in close cooperation with all other functions involved in the transaction.

Understanding and integrating IT into all processes – from the very beginning

Our experts support you throughout the entire transaction process. Our technology due diligence service gives you a reliable understanding of the IT landscape and the associated potential opportunities, risks and costs. Depending on the specific transaction, we view the area as a supporting function within a traditional structure or as a key element of value creation, and identify further special IT requirements. At every stage in the transaction process, we provide support from a technical perspective, from the strategy for IT and data through to the related implications for the transaction and its integration. We use our tested and proven methods and tools to help you integrate all IT-related considerations at an early stage, while also ensuring a high level of security for your transaction. We believe your deal is our deal. Together, we help you achieve success with your transaction – even in times of great change.

Contact our expert

"Business Diligence" is part of our transaction process. An overview of all our transaction processes you can find here.

Contact us

Erik Hummitzsch

Erik Hummitzsch

Partner, Transaction Services Leader, PwC Germany

Tel: +49 89 5790-5185

Follow us

Business Diligence

Chancen und Risiken so früh wie möglich erkennen

Sowohl der Erwerb als auch die Veräußerung von Unternehmen und Unternehmensteilen bergen Chancen und Risiken zugleich: Jede Transaktion kann tiefgreifende Veränderungen in der Organisationsstruktur und -kultur mit sich bringen. Das macht die richtige Analyse und Beurteilung von Zielunternehmen extrem relevant. Die Herstellung von Transparenz hinsichtlich aller bestehenden Organisationsstrukturen und Prozesse ist ausschlaggebend für einen nachhaltigen Transaktionserfolg.

Entscheidende Frage lauten: Welche potenziellen Deal Breaker gibt es? Welche Wertpotenziale gibt es, die im Rahmen der Due Diligence weiter analysiert und nach dem Deal umgesetzt werden sollten? Wie können Käufer und Verkäufer frühestmöglich die Daten von Investitions-, Übernahme- oder Fusionskandidaten erheben, prüfen und analysieren – und so nachhaltige Entscheidungen treffen?

Kauf, Fusion, Verkauf: Ganzheitliche Exzellenz für Ihren Transaktionserfolg

Das Business Diligence-Team von PwC beantwortet Ihre Fragen – und unterstützt Sie aktiv bei der Entscheidungsfindung. Wir analysieren die wirtschaftlichen, rechtlichen und steuerlichen Risiken und Chancen, die sich für Ihr Unternehmen im Rahmen einer Transaktion ergeben. Dabei setzen wir neueste, digitale Tools, etablierte Methoden und unser umfassendes Branchen Know-how ein. So sind wir in der Lage erste Ergebnisse schnell zu visualisieren und Informationen zum Transaktionsobjekt zu liefern. Dabei profitieren Sie davon, dass unsere Analysemethoden stets auf dem neuesten Stand sind. Sie bekommen aussagekräftige, individuelle Analysen, die Sie und Ihr Unternehmen optimal auf die Transaktion vorbereiten. Im Rahmen einer umfassenden Business Due Diligence, in der verschiedene Disziplinen zusammenarbeiten, können wir Wertpotenziale und Transaktionsrisiken ganzheitlich identifizieren.

Your Deal is our Deal

Wir begleiten Sie bei jedem Schritt: Und bei Bedarf greifen Sie auf unser internationales Netzwerk zurück. Auf uns ist Verlass: Unsere Kunden wissen das und haben uns daher zu einem der weltweit führenden Transaktionsberater gemacht. Für uns gilt: Your Deal is our Deal. Gemeinsam gestalten wir den richtigen Deal für Sie, auch in bewegten Zeiten.

Commercial Due Diligence

Die Zukunftsfähigkeit eines Unternehmens beurteilen

Die kommerzielle Due Diligence – Englisch: Commercial Due Diligence – setzt sich bei der Unternehmensprüfung nicht nur mit der Vergangenheit auseinander, sondern analysiert systematisch Chancen und Risiken eines Geschäftsmodells und somit dessen Zukunftsfähigkeit.

Sie beinhaltet die sorgfältige Prüfung eines Zielunternehmens aus Markt-, Kunden- und Wettbewerbssicht im Vorfeld des Unternehmenskaufs und findet stets in enger Verzahnung mit anderen Due Diligence-Disziplinen (z. B. Financial, Operational, Technology, Legal und Tax) statt. Ziel der Commercial Due Diligence ist es, das Alleinstellungsmerkmal – Englisch: Unique Selling Proposition (USP) – und den Businessplan des Transaktionsobjekts qualitativ und quantitativ zu validieren. Grundlage dieser Validierung ist die ausführliche Analyse der Nachhaltigkeit des Geschäftsmodells, des Marktumfelds, des Kundenverhaltens sowie der Positionierung des Unternehmens im heutigen und im künftigen Wettbewerbsumfeld. Die Commerical Due Diligence ist die Basis für die Entscheidung, ein Unternehmen oder einen Geschäftsbereich zu erwerben.

Die Kaufentscheidung richtig vorbereiten

Unsere Kompetenzen decken sowohl die Buy Side als auch die Vendor Due Diligence ab. Desweiteren verfügen wir über langjährige Erfahrung in der Entwicklung von organischen und anorganischen Wachstumsstrategien, Markteintrittsstrategien, Exit Strategien und Benchmarks. Der Commercial Due Diligence-Bericht richtet sich gleichermaßen an Finanzinvestoren (Private Equity) sowie Unternehmen und deren Management. Ebenso wird er von Banken, die eine Transaktion finanzieren (Leveraged Buy-out) als Entscheidungsgrundlage genutzt. Die Commercial Due Diligence ist somit ausschlaggebend für die endgültige Entscheidung zur Beteiligung oder zum Verkauf.

Umfangreiches Branchenwissen für eine erfolgreiche Transaktion

Immer den richtigen Experten zur Hand: Dank unserer länderübergreifenden Teams und der engen Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Kollegen von Strategy& profitieren Sie stets von unserem fundierten und aktuellen Industriewissen – und das branchenübergreifend in den Sektoren: Automotive, Building & Construction, Transport & Logistics, Business Services, E-Commerce, Retail & Consumer Goods, Industrial Manufacturing, Pharma & Life Sciences, Healthcare, Travel, Sports & Leisure sowie Technology, Media & Telecommunication.
Wir begleiten Sie durch den gesamten Transaktionsprozess und liefern relevante Informationen für Ihre Transaktionsentscheidung. Für uns gilt: Your Deal is our Deal. Gemeinsam gestalten wir den richtigen Deal für Sie, auch in bewegten Zeiten.

Financial Due Diligence

Umfassende Analysen für gute Entscheidungen

Ob Kauf, Verkauf oder Fusion: Eine fundierte Financial Due Diligence-Analyse ist zentraler Baustein einer jeden erfolgreichen Transaktion. Das Ziel: die finanziellen Chancen und Risiken identifizieren. Dabei stellen sich viele Fragen: Was sind die Treiber des Geschäfts? Wie erfahre ich mehr über die operative Tragfähigkeit und die Wertschöpfungskette des Zielunternehmens? Ist der Business Plan realistisch? Wie hat sich das Working Capital in letzter Zeit entwickelt? Und welche Kaufpreisanpassungen müssen vorgenommen werden?

Ihr PwC-Team liefert die Antworten: Unsere Financial Due Diligence umfasst detaillierte Bilanz- und Ergebnisrechnungsanalysen, Kapitalflussrechnungen und wesentliche operative Begleitumstände, die für die Kaufentscheidung wichtig sind. Mittels passgenau auf Sie zugeschnittener Analysen können wir Ihre Fragen gezielt beantworten und identifizieren bereits frühzeitig Wertpotenziale, finanzielle Risiken und mögliche Dealbreaker.

Heute schon sehen, was morgen realistisch ist: Die Kaufentscheidung richtig vorbereiten

Gemeinsam mit Ihnen entwickeln wir einen auf Ihre Bedürfnisse zugeschnittenen Due Diligence-Plan. Egal, ob Sie auf der Käufer- oder Verkäuferseite stehen. Wir begleiten Sie kompetent durch die gesamte Transaktion: Von der Planung des Prozesses bis hin zur Besprechung der finalen Berichte für Käufer, Verkäufer oder Investoren. Unser Portfolio umfasst – für die Verkäuferseite – die Vendor Assistance mit Factbook sowie die Vendor Due Diligence. Auf der Käuferseite unterstützen wir Sie mit Red Flag-Reports, Buy-Side Due Diligence-Berichten und der Closing Accounts-Review. Sie können sich auf unsere präzisen Gewinn- und Verlustrechnungen, Working Capital-Analysen, Kapitalflussrechnungen, Net Debt- sowie Quality-of-Earnings-Analysen verlassen. Zusammen mit den Ergebnissen unserer historischen Analysen sowie den Erkenntnissen aus der Commercial Due Diligence und der Operational Due Diligence bewerten wir die Belastbarkeit des Businessplans. Dank der systematischen Analyse der Werttreiber von Unternehmen und der auf deren Grundlage für Sie entwickelten Handlungsempfehlungen, verfügen Sie jederzeit über alle erforderlichen Informationen. So entsteht ein echter Mehrwert.

Auch im weiteren Verlauf der Transaktion können Sie auf uns zählen: Wir zeigen auf, welche Auswirkungen die Ergebnisse unserer detaillierten Analyse auf die Kaufpreisverhandlung und das Sale and Purchase Agreement (SPA) haben. Und klären, welche Aspekte für potenzielle Käufer – insbesondere Private Equity-Investoren oder Banken – wichtig sind. Mit unseren Steuer und Legal Due Diligence-Experten arbeiten wir eng zusammen. Dabei greifen wir bei Bedarf auf das gesamte, globale PwC-Netzwerk zurück. Darüber hinaus setzen wir die neuesten Data-Tools ein und legen viel Wert auf eine effiziente Datenanalyse. Hierbei unterstützt uns das Data Analytics-Team immer wenn es darum geht, komplexe Datenmengen auszuwerten und zu visualisieren, um den größtmöglichen Erkenntnisgewinn zu erzielen. So stellen wir sicher, dass Ihre Fragen zeitnah beantwortet werden.

Finanzielle Transparenz von Anfang an: strategisch, sorgfältig, relevant

Die Financial Due Diligence ist Herzstück des Due Diligence-Prozesses: Unser Financial Due Diligence-Team verfügt über langjährige, fachliche Erfahrung sowie Branchenkenntnis und arbeitet stets mit größter Sorgfalt, um für Sie eine solide Entscheidungsgrundlage zu schaffen. Auch nach der Transaktion unterstützen wir Sie bei allen Fragen rund um das Thema Post Merger Integration. Wir sind Ihr Partner für alle Phasen der Transaktion. Für uns gilt: Your Deal is our Deal. Gemeinsam gestalten wir den richtigen Deal für Sie, auch in bewegten Zeiten.

Kontaktieren Sie unseren Experten

Accounting Due Diligence

Rechnungslegung analysieren und anpassen

Was müssen Sie vor dem Unternehmenskauf bei der Analyse von Rechnungslegungssystemen und -prozessen des Zielunternehmens beachten? Welche Anpassungen im Accounting würde ein Kauf nach sich ziehen? Und wie sollte die prozessuale und systemseitige Integration des Zielunternehmens nach der Transaktion aussehen?

Rechnungslegungs- und Prozessexpertise aus einer Hand

Unsere Experten analysieren die Systeme und Prozesse des zu erwerbenden Unternehmens für Sie. Wir zeigen und begründen die erforderlichen Anpassungen und beraten Sie, damit die Integration erfolgreich wird. Unser Team vereint Rechnungslegungs- und Prozessexpertise mit langjähriger Erfahrung aus zahlreichen Unternehmenskauf-Projekten.

Tempo und Qualität für Ihre Planungssicherheit

Sie profitieren nicht nur von unserem international anerkannten Know-how, sondern auch von unserem hohem Analysetempo und zuverlässiger Qualität. So wissen Sie frühzeitig, welche Effekte Ihnen System- und Prozessanpassungen bringen. Unser Ziel ist es, Ihnen Planungssicherheit zu geben. Denn für uns gilt: Your Deal is our Deal. Gemeinsam gestalten wir den richtigen Deal für Sie, auch in bewegten Zeiten.

Kontaktieren Sie unseren Experten

Tax Due Diligence

Steuerliche Aspekte mit großem Einfluss

Die Identifikation von steuerlichen Chancen und Risiken spielt im Rahmen von Transaktionen eine wesentliche Rolle. Dem potenziellen Käufer stellen sich viele Fragen: Birgt das Zielunternehmen materielle, steuerliche Risiken? Löst die Transaktion Transfersteuern aus? Gibt es steuerliche Attribute, die erhalten und künftig genutzt werden können? Welche Auswirkungen ergeben sich daraus für die Transaktionsstruktur: Sollte der Käufer einzelne Vermögensgegenstände oder Rechtsverhältnisse des Zielunternehmens übernehmen (Asset Deal) oder lieber Anteilsrechte an einem Unternehmen kaufen (Share Deal)? Und wie wirken sich die Faktoren auf Kaufpreis und Kaufvertrag aus? Im Rahmen einer Tax Due Diligence werden diese Fragen geprüft und steuerliche Risiken identifiziert. Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse bilden die Basis für eine optimale steuerliche Transaktionsstruktur des Zielunternehmens.

Den gesamten Transaktionsprozess im Blick

Ob Käufer oder Verkäufer, in der Tax Due Diligence wird die steuerliche Situation des Transaktionsobjektes ermittelt. Durch die umfassende Prüfung Ihres Steuerrisikos kann dieses frühzeitig in der Kaufpreisverhandlung, im Sale and Purchase Agreement (SPA) und in der Transaktionsstruktur berücksichtigt werden. Wir stimmen unsere Tax Due Diligence genau auf Ihre Anforderungen ab. Dabei sind wir stets im engen Austausch mit den Kollegen der weiteren Due Diligence-Disziplinen. Gemeinsam stellen wir sicher, dass alle vorhandenen Informationen mit der gebotenen Sorgfalt analysiert und eingeordnet werden. Unser interdisziplinäres Team aus Steuerberatern, Rechtsanwälten, Wirtschaftsprüfern und Transaktionsexperten unterstützt Sie bei der gesamten Transaktion – von der Kaufentscheidung, über die Kaufvertragsverhandlung, bis hin zur Integration.

Alle steuerlichen Informationen aus einer Hand

Unser Deals Tax-Team beantwortet Ihnen alle steuerrelevanten Fragen: Von der Tax Due Diligence, über den Kaufvertrag, bis hin zur steuerlichen Strukturierung begleiten wir Unternehmen und Private Equity-Investoren durch den gesamten Transaktionsprozess. Bei Bedarf greifen wir auf unser internationales PwC-Netzwerk aus Deals Tax-Spezialisten zurück. Als PwC-Kunde profitieren Sie von unserer langjährigen Expertise als führender Transaktionsberater. Für uns gilt: Your Deal is our Deal. Gemeinsam gestalten wir den richtigen Deal für Sie, auch in bewegten Zeiten.

Kontaktieren Sie unseren Experten

Operational Due Diligence

Wertsteigerung Ihres Unternehmens durch Optimierung im operativen Bereich
 

Die erhöhte Marktdynamik, der technologischer Wandel und eine stetig steigende Komplexität von M&A-Transaktionen werfen viele Fragen auf: Arbeitet und verhandelt der Einkauf professionell? Reichen die personellen und maschinellen Kapazitäten künftig aus? Werden die Produkte über die Supply Chain zuverlässig zur Verfügung gestellt? Gibt es Optimierungspotenziale beim Working Capital? Sind Forschung und Entwicklung sowie Produktion aufeinander abgestimmt und werden effizient gemanagt? Welche Alleinstellungsmerkmale zeichnet die Geschäftstätigkeit aus? Und wie belastbar sind die operativen Kennzahlen?

Käufer und Verkäufer sind darauf angewiesen, Risiken und Werttreiber der Geschäftstätigkeit eines Unternehmens im Detail zu verstehen. Dabei ist die Identifizierung, Quantifizierung sowie Priorisierung von Hebeln für den Transaktionswert von zentraler Bedeutung. Hier kommt die Operational Due Diligence ins Spiel: Sie umfasst die Analyse und die Optimierung der Produktionsprozesse und zeigt Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten in den Bereichen Einkauf, Produktion, Logistik, Vertrieb sowie Forschung und Entwicklung auf.

Passende Lösungen von Experten für Experten

Das PwC-Team analysiert gemeinsam mit Ihnen im Rahmen des Due Diligence-Prozesses Ihre Produkt- und Unternehmensperformance sowie die dazugehörigen Erfolgsfaktoren. Außerdem wird überprüft, ob die Synergien entlang der Wertschöpfungskette realistisch und umfassend eingeschätzt wurden. Diese Prüfung ergibt einen Überblick über die bestehenden Stärken und Schwächen der operativen Bereiche eines Unternehmens samt Auswirkungen auf die Finanzkennzahlen. Das Ziel: Risiken minimieren, Potenziale identifizieren, Synergien heben. Zusammen mit unseren Kunden entwickeln wir maßgeschneiderte Lösungen. Dabei behalten wir die notwendige Detailtiefe und Ihre individuellen Anforderungen stets im Blick. Alle Informationen, die Sie zur Entscheidungsfindung benötigen, bekommen Sie von uns: Analysen und Ergebnisse in Form von Quick-Scans, Red Flag-Reports, Operational Due Diligence oder Business Transformation-Konzepten. Diese Informationen helfen Unternehmern auch bei der Bewertung des Zielunternehmens, bei den späteren Vertragsverhandlungen sowie bei der Abschätzung zukünftiger Integrationsmaßnahmen.

Die Prüfung von Operations stärkt das Due Diligence-Ergebnis und somit ihr Urteilsvermögen

Im Mittelpunkt der Operational Due Diligence stehen Risiken und Verbesserungspotenziale in den verschiedenen Unternehmensbereichen. Die Operational Due Diligence stellt sicher, dass diese umfassend und realistisch eingeschätzt werden. Der Due Diligence-Prozess gibt Aufschluss über die bestehenden Stärken und Schwächen der operativen Bereiche eines Unternehmens – daher nehmen wir es ganz genau. So stellen wir höchste Transparenz für Verkäufer und potenzielle Käufer sicher. Zusätzlich liefert die Operational Due Diligence Ansatzpunkte für nachgelagerte Maßnahmen. Auch nach Abschluss der Transaktion begleiten wir das Management bei der Planung und Umsetzung konkreter Lösungen zur Effizienz- und Wertsteigerung. Unsere Experten bringen nicht nur jahrelange Erfahrung im Transaktionsbereich, sondern auch das nötige technische Know-how, industriespezifisches Wissen und ein internationales Netzwerk mit. Wir unterstützen Sie in allen Phasen der Transaktion, sei es durch die Bewertung von Business Plänen, Experten-Interviews oder auch Standortbesichtigungen. Hierbei achten wir genau darauf, diese und weitere individuelle Erfolgsfaktoren zu adressieren. Für uns gilt: Your Deal is our Deal. Gemeinsam gestalten wir den richtigen Deal für Sie, auch in bewegten Zeiten.

Kontaktieren Sie unseren Experten

Technology Due Diligence

Den technologischen Aspekt einer Transaktion immer im Blick

Informationstechnologie (IT) ist inzwischen ein eigener Wertbestandteil: Denn mit fortschreitender Digitalisierung wird die IT zunehmend als Treiber einer nachhaltigen Geschäftsentwicklung gesehen. Bei nahezu allen Transaktionen ist die Separierung oder Integration der IT-Funktion eine der größten Herausforderungen und macht eine detaillierte Technology Due Diligence unerlässlich. Häufig fehlt es an Transparenz hinsichtlich der technischen Unterstützung der Prozesse. Hier setzt unsere Analyse an: Welche Systeme sind in der IT-Landschaft vorhanden? Können Systeme integriert werden oder werden sie überflüssig? Welches sind die kritischen Pfade im Rahmen von IT-Carve-outs und IT-Integrationen? Welche Kosten und Risiken ergeben sich, insbesondere, aus den IT-Schnittstellen? Und verfügt das Unternehmen über die notwendigen Ressourcen zur erfolgreichen Umsetzung der Geschäfts- und Digitalisierungsstrategie?

Benötigte Investitionssummen und künftige Kostenszenarien einschätzen

In Phase I erstellt das PwC-Team in kürzester Zeit einen Red Flag-Report und identifiziert potenzielle Dealbreaker für Sie. Im nächsten Schritt erfolgt eine umfangreiche Technology Due Diligence. Das Verständnis für die IT-Landschaft spielt eine wichtige Rolle bei der Durchführung der IT Due Diligence. Diese betrachtet relevante IT-Lösungen für Ihre Transaktion in Hinblick auf Anwendungen, Infrastruktur, Sicherheit, Projekte und Finanzen – unabhängig davon, ob Sie Käufer oder Verkäufer sind. Darauf aufbauend identifizieren und bewerten wir Risiken der bestehenden IT, bezogen auf heutige und künftige Geschäftsanforderungen. Kosten und Potenziale der Durchführung eines Carve-outs und der Integration bewerten wir individuell mit Hilfe unserer umfangreichen Projekthistorie und stellen alle notwendigen Informationen zusammen. Abschließend unterstützen wir Sie bei der Bewertung der Leistungsfähigkeit der IT des Targetunternehmens im Vergleich zu Ihren Wettbewerbern. Im Fokus dieser Prüfung steht immer das Verständnis des Wertbeitrags der IT, in enger Zusammenarbeit mit allen anderen Funktionen innerhalb der geplanten Transaktion.

Die IT in allen Prozessen verstehen und integrieren – von Anfang an

Unsere Experten unterstützen Sie mit ihrem Know-how entlang des gesamten Transaktionsprozesses. Dank unserer sorgfältigen Analyse im Rahmen der Technology Due Diligence erhalten Sie ein fundiertes Verständnis der IT-Landschaft und der daraus resultierenden Potenziale, Risiken und Kosten. Je nach Transaktion betrachten wir den Bereich als Unterstützungsfunktion in traditionellen Strukturen oder als Kern der Wertschöpfung und identifizieren spezifische Anforderungen an die IT. Wir unterstützen Sie im gesamten Transaktionsprozesses auch aus technischer Sicht – von der IT- und Datenstrategie, über die entsprechenden Implikationen für die Transaktion und deren Umsetzung. Mit unseren erprobten Methoden und Werkzeugen helfen wir Ihnen, alle informationstechnischen Aspekte frühzeitig einzubeziehen und gewährleisten eine hohe Transaktionssicherheit. Für uns gilt: Your Deal is our Deal. Gemeinsam gestalten wir den richtigen Deal für Sie, auch in bewegten Zeiten.

Kontaktieren Sie unseren Experten

„Business Diligence“ ist Teil unserers Transaktionsprozesses. Eine Übersicht all unserer Transaktionsprozesse finden Sie hier.

Contact us

Erik Hummitzsch

Partner, Transaction Services Leader, PwC Germany

Tel.: +49 89 5790-5185

Follow us