Real Estate Tax Services

For international real estate investors, property developers and real estate service providers, tax issues are often incremental in their decision-making process. These tax issues always need to be addressed within the context of real estate transactions, the legal framework, regulatory requirements and the financial structure. With our comprehensive knowledge of real estate business operations, PwC Real Estate Tax supports you in finding appropriate tax solutions.

Today, real estate clients’ needs go beyond professional statements and opinions. In fact they seek thought leaders and innovative advisors who solve problems, who can reliably guide them through the entire real estate investment cycle. Your Real Estate Tax team at PwC uses its international know-how to deliver solutions of the highest quality.

Our approach

Regardless of whether you are fund initiators, institutional investors, property holders, private equity investors, our inter-disciplinary team delivers tailor-made solutions. Our Real Estate Tax Team comprises approximately 100 staff members who have a long track record in advising in the real estate industry. We are integral part of our global PwC-Real-Estate network.

Our consultancy practice, our legal advisory team and the audit practice are ready to support if required.

Our Services

Our advice covers the full investment cycle from one source.

Transaction advice

Whether by asset deal or share deal, real estate transactions often take place in a highly competitive environment within tight time frames. Therefore, multiple task need to be tackled and coordinated among the various teams within a short time period.

The PwC Real Estate Tax team is at your disposal with sound tax structuring experience and tax due diligence know how. Our industry knowledge will fee into your transactions to ensure an effective implementation, whilst sticking closely to content and time guidelines.

Our German team together with our international tax network allows us to provide high-profiled and reliable advice on large portfolio investments, even within ambitious time constraints. In doing so we cooperate closely with our PwC transaction advisory team and the experts from PwC Legal.

Our range of services

  • tax structuring advice for German and outbound real estate transactions structured either as share deal or asset deal
  • tax due diligences and tax fact books (share deal and asset deal; buy-side and sell-side)
  • advice in setting up and populating virtual data rooms and support in Q&A processes
  • advice on and assistance with tax clauses in real estate sale and purchase agreements, cross-border loan agreements and other contracts
  • post deal integration: assistance with the implementation of the acquired portfolios

Tax advice for real estate funds

A number of tax-related and regulatory issues emerge when setting up real estate fund structure, during the holding period and at exit. These issues request a holistic approach with respect to the investors’ requirements, the choice of the fund vehicle and the particular target investment. For each of these tasks, we closely team up with PwC Real Estate Experts of Advisory, PwC Legal and Assurance.

Our range of services

  • tax-related optimization of domestic, cross-border and multinational fund structures at initiation
  • ongoing tax advice (for example, investor tax reporting according to section 5 of the German Investment Tax Act)
  • tax advice in relation to inbound and outbound transactions
  • tax advice for distressed real estate funds and liquidation of property funds
  • tax-related restructuring of real estate funds
  • review of target funds from a tax (incl. CFC) and regulatory point of view
  • tax or regulatory advice for institutional investors

Ongoing tax consulting

During the holding period of a real estate investment or during developments, a number of tax-related tasks need to be considered, such as tax compliance or tax audits. This is covered by our service delivery as well. Moreover, restructuring needs and refinancing project attract tax implications during the holdings period, where we are providing advice.

Our range of services

  • tax declarations, accounting and annual financial statements
  • support in tax audits
  • monitoring of real property tax and real estate transfer tax
  • valuation of real estate for tax purposes
  • tax optimization for real estate portfolios
  • tax-related optimization of refinancing structures

Contact us

Uwe Stoschek

Global Tax Leader Real Estate, PwC Germany

Tel: +49 (30) 2636 5286

Marcel Mies

Partner, PwC Germany

Tel: +49 211 981-2294

Sven Behrends

Partner, PwC Germany

Tel: +49 89 5790-5887

Josip Oreskovic-Rips

Partner, PwC Germany

Tel: +49 69 9585-6255

Helge Dammann

Partner, PwC Germany

Tel: +49 30 2636-5222

Dr. Michael A. Müller

Partner, PwC Germany

Tel: +49 30 2636-5572

Follow us

Real Estate Tax Services

Steuerfragen sind für internationale Investoren, Projektentwickler und Dienstleister der Immobilienbranche häufig entscheidungsrelevant. Denn diese Fragen sind im Kontext der Anforderungen des Immobiliengeschäfts, der rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen, der regulatorischen Anforderungen und der Finanzierungsstruktur zu beantworten. PwC Real Estate Tax unterstützt Sie mit einem umfassenden Verständnis der immobilienspezifischen Zusammenhänge dabei, die richtigen Antworten zu finden.

Der Beratungsbedarf der Mandanten aus der Immobilienbranche geht heute weit über fachliche Stellungnahmen und Gutachten hinaus. Sie suchen kompetente Vordenker und innovative Problemlöser, die Sie über den gesamten Lebenszyklus ihrer Immobilieninvestition zuverlässig begleiten. Ihr Real Estate Tax-Team von PwC erfüllt den Anspruch an internationales Know-how und Lösungskompetenz in hoher Qualität.

Unser Beratungsansatz

Ob Sie Fondsinitiator, institutioneller Investor, Projektentwickler, Bestandshalter oder Private-Equity-Investor sind: Wir entwickeln für Sie individuelle Lösungskonzepte mit einem interdisziplinären Team aus einer Hand. Zum deutschen Real Estate Tax-Team gehören rund 100 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter, die seit Jahren auf die Beratung der Immobilienbranche spezialisiert und in das internationale PwC Real Estate-Netzwerk eingebunden sind.

Bei Bedarf können Sie auch auf das Spezialwissen der Kollegen von PwC Advisory und der PricewaterhouseCoopers Legal AG Rechtsanwaltsgesellschaft (PwC Legal) zugreifen.

Unsere Dienstleistungen

Wir unterstützen Sie über den gesamten Investitionszyklus aus einer Hand.

Transaktionsberatung

Immobilientransaktionen, ob als Asset Deal oder Share Deal, finden oft unter hohem Zeitdruck in einem kompetitiven Umfeld statt. Deshalb müssen die Beteiligten viele Fragen in unterschiedlichen Workstreams sehr kurzfristig klären.

Mit PwC Real Estate Tax steht Ihnen ein Team mit profunder Erfahrung bei der steuerlichen Strukturierung und der steuerlichen Due Diligence zur Seite. Unsere Branchenkenntnisse können Sie in Ihrer Transaktion nutzen, um die inhaltlichen und zeitlichen Rahmenbedingungen für eine erfolgreiche Transaktion umzusetzen.

Mit unserem Deutschland-Team und dem Netzwerk internationaler Steuerexperten beraten wir auch große Portfolioinvestitionen mit ambitionierten Zeitvorgaben kompetent und zuverlässig. Hierbei kooperieren wir eng mit unseren Kollegen des PwC Real Estate Deals Teams und den Experten von PwC Legal.

Mit diesen Leistungen unterstützt Sie PwC Real Estate Tax konkret

  • Steuerliche Transaktionsberatung beim Erwerb oder Verkauf von inländischen und ausländischen Immobilien im Share Deal oder Asset Deal
  • Tax Due Diligences und Erstellung von Tax Fact Books (Share Deal und Asset Deal; Buyside und Sellside)
  • Einrichtung von Datenräumen und Begleitung von Q & A-Prozessen
  • Formulierung und Verhandlung von Steuerklauseln in Immobilienkaufverträgen, internationalen Bankdarlehen und sonstigen Vertragswerken
  • Unterstützung in der Post Deal Integration-Phase bei der Übernahme des erworbenen Portfolios

Steuerliche Beratung für Immobilienfonds

Schon das Aufsetzen einer Immobilienfondsstruktur, aber auch die Haltephase und der Exit, bergen viele steuerliche und aufsichtsrechtliche Fragestellungen, die immer mit dem Blick auf die Anforderungen der Investoren, des gewählten Fondsvehikels und der jeweiligen Zielinvestition zu beantworten sind. Daher bearbeiten wir diese Themen ganzheitlich für Sie und agieren interdisziplinär mit den Real Estate-Experten aus den Bereichen Advisory, Assurance und PwC Legal.

Mit diesen Leistungen unterstützt Sie PwC Real Estate Tax konkret

  • Steuerliche Konzeption nationaler, internationaler und multinationaler Fondsstrukturen bei Initiierung
  • Laufende steuerliche Beratung (u. a. Reporting gem. § 5 InvStG )
  • Investmentrechtliche und steuerliche Transaktionsberatung bei Erwerb von in- und ausländischen Immobilien
  • Steuerliche Beratung bei der Sanierung notleidender Immobilienfonds und der Liquidation von Immobilienfonds
  • Immobilienfonds steuerlich restrukturieren
  • Zielfonds für institutionelle Anleger steuerlich, außensteuerlich und investmentrechtlich prüfen
  • Institutionelle Anleger steuer- und aufsichtsrechtlich beraten

Laufende steuerliche Beratung

Auch während der Haltephase oder einer Projektentwicklung müssen Sie steuerliche Herausforderungen meistern – beispielsweise im Rahmen von Steuerdeklarationen und Betriebsprüfungen. Darüber hinaus sind insbesondere bei Reorganisationen und Refinanzierungen während der Halteperiode steuerliche Implikationen zu berücksichtigen. Auch hier unterstützen wir Sie gerne.

Mit diesen Leistungen unterstützt Sie PwC Real Estate Tax

  • Erstellung von Steuererklärungen, Buchhaltungen und Jahresabschlüssen
  • Betreuung von Betriebsprüfungen
  • Überwachung von Grundsteuer und Grunderwerbsteuer
  • Immobilienwertermittlungen für steuerliche Zwecke
  • Steuerliche Optimierung von Immobilienportfolien
  • Steuerliche Konzeptionierung von Refinanzierungen

Contact us

Uwe Stoschek

Global Tax Leader Real Estate, PwC Germany

Tel.: +49 (30) 2636 5286

Marcel Mies

Partner, PwC Germany

Tel.: +49 211 981-2294

Sven Behrends

Partner, PwC Germany

Tel.: +49 89 5790-5887

Josip Oreskovic-Rips

Partner, PwC Germany

Tel.: +49 69 9585-6255

Helge Dammann

Partner, PwC Germany

Tel.: +49 30 2636-5222

Dr. Michael A. Müller

Partner, PwC Germany

Tel.: +49 30 2636-5572

Follow us