Private Equity Audit

Quality first, no surprises, more than an audit

Private equity audit - with a clear focus on quality, reliability and added value

Reliability, pragmatism and speed are characteristics of the private equity industry. These characteristics are exactly what we stand for as PwC's Private Equity Audit Team. We understand auditing as part of the value creation process. Our hands-on approach and clear focus on private equity’s agenda, will not only help you to ensure the quality of financial reports, but also identify potential areas for improvement, support the value creation process during the entire investment lifecycle, avoid surprises and ensure a smooth exit process. More than just an audit!

What does this mean for you as a private equity house or portfolio company? You need a swift, responsive and hands-on partner for your business and financial reporting. And you are looking for a reliable and experienced auditor? We deliver solutions developed and designed together with you, precisely focused on your needs.

How do we accomplish this?

< Back

< Back
[+] Read More

Nothing but Quality - from Deal to Exit

Our private equity audits have two main objectives. Number one: to always meet all compliance requirements without tying local management more than necessary, allowing them to focus on operations. Number two: to stand by your side and assist through all opportunities and challenges facing your private equity house and portfolio company.

Specifically, this means to focus on the issues that are relevant to you during the audit – and thus reduce your workload to a minimum. Surprises on the balance sheet date? Not with our specialised private equity audit teams – thanks to careful audit planning and early coordination of the topics that are most important to you.

How do we manage that? With expertise – and technology. Leveraging our experience from numerous PE audits and our network of dedicated PE specialists are key to a successful and value added audit. Market-leading tools allow us to carry out a full analysis instead of audit sampling. With maximum comfort and minimum data deduction, reduced to the risk based triggers.

Looking to exit? We are the right partner for this too

Especially as your auditor, we will support you in checking the quality of your financial data – for example, monthly financial statements including the income statement, balance sheet, covenants calculations, cashflow and profitability statements. If there is any potential for improvement – and we are sure that there is – we will find it. And make specific suggestions on how to fix any issues – strictly according to time and action plan.

 

Proven transition concept facilitated by digital auditing tools

Our Private Equity Audit Team has a vast experience – based on various client transitions and IPOs, ranging from globally listed corporations to local SMEs. It is this aggregated experience, which we have structured to create a field-tested approach.  For a fast and high-quality transition, we focus on the following main areas: How does your organisation work and what are the value drivers of your business model? How do we get up to speed as quickly as possible?

Our service concept at a glance

Responsiveness

We review and evaluate all transactions relevant to the financial statements and their respective accounting treatment at an early stage. By doing this, we avoid surprises for you on the balance sheet date. Additionally, partners and experienced managers are with you on a regular basis. This guarantees a fast and straightforward response. This is important to us because we know that relevant topics and ad hoc issues are best solved in person.

Always in exchange with you

Based on regular status meetings throughout the audit process as well as interim and closing meetings after each audit phase, you are always up to date. We solve your requests quickly, reliably and hands-on – not only at the time of the audit – but throughout the year.

Value Meetings

You benefit from regular face-to-face meetings with experts on relevant topics for you and your shareholders. These include digitalisation in sales, transfer pricing, cyber security, compliance and many other transaction-related topics.

Private Equity Network

Many of our team members are specialised in specific subject areas. These specialists are always there for you – even on short notice.

Growth and quality are part of your DNA? That connects us

Many German companies are market leaders in their core business and are extremely innovative. Growth is part of their DNA. However, strong growth alone does not guarantee success. That is why we get to know your story and advise you with foresight. As your auditor, we offer you much more than comfort for your financial reporting: our audit team specialising in Private Equity is your sparring partner.

What makes us an audit market leader

  • Many years of deal experience in the private equity environment
  • International and interdisciplinary cooperation, IFRS conversions, exchange of experience and best practices
  • Extensive experience with private-equity-backed portfolio companies
  • Expertise in private equity accounting, incl. purchase price allocation, bad will, restructuring, financing, share-based compensation and covenants reporting
  • Industry know-how with high-profile publications and top events

Special requirements? Excellent!

If you have specific questions – no problem. We bundle our years of experience in supporting portfolio companies and private equity houses in our Private Equity Center of Excellence - and integrate exactly those specialists that you need most urgently into the audit team. Quickly and effectively. This way, you have access to best practices in your industry at all times. With innovative tools, we are able to analyse your data even more efficiently and transparently. By doing this, we devote ourselves to your specific requirements in a very concentrated manner. For example

  • Optimising performance and further developing financial reporting.

  • Balance sheet policy design to address financing issues while complying with financial covenants.

  • Definition of non-financial KPIs to measure, manage and report ESG performance to stakeholders.

Digital Audit

New regulatory requirements such as auditor rotation, increasingly digital business models and new technologies such as big data, artificial intelligence and blockchain will revolutionise auditing. What opportunities does this present – for auditors and companies alike?

Follow us

Contact us

Dietmar Prümm

Dietmar Prümm

Member of the Management Board and Assurance Leader, PwC Germany

Tel: +49 211 981-2146

Thomas Schicke

Thomas Schicke

PE Audit - Director, PwC Germany

Tel: +49 211 981-1283

Daniel  Spengemann

Daniel Spengemann

PE Audit - Director, PwC Germany

Tel: +49 69 9585-3762

Hide

Private Equity Audit

Quality first, no surprises, more than an audit

Private Equity Audit – mit klarem Fokus auf Qualität, Verlässlichkeit und Mehrwert

Zuverlässigkeit, Pragmatismus und Schnelligkeit sind Eigenschaften, die wir im Private-Equity-Umfeld erleben. Dafür stehen wir als Private-Equity-Audit-Team von PwC. Value Creation hört nach unserem Verständnis nicht bei der Abschlussprüfung auf. Wir geben Ihnen die Sicherheit für Ihre Finanzberichterstattung, bringen zudem durch unsere Private-Equity-Fokussierung Mehrwert für Ihre Portfoliogesellschaft und helfen Ihnen dabei Überraschungen im Exit-Prozess zu vermeiden. Mit einer Prüfung, die "more than an audit" ist,einen klaren Fokus auf das Wesentliche legt und immer auf die Identifizierung von Optimierungspotenzialen ausgerichtet ist.

Was bedeutet das für Sie als Private-Equity-Haus oder als Portfolio-Unternehmen? Sie benötigen Sicherheit, schnelle Reaktionszeiten und lösungsorientierte Interaktionen für Ihre Finanzberichterstattung. Und dafür einen verlässlichen und erfahrenen Abschlussprüfer? Uns! Wir liefern gemeinsam mit Ihnen entwickelte und konzipierte Lösungen, die sich präzise an Ihren Bedürfnissen orientieren. Damit wir genau das Richtige für Sie finden. Um Sie noch besser zu machen.

Wie wir das erreichen

 world black

Wir kennen Ihre branchenübergreifenden Herausforderungen und unterstützen Sie bei der Wertsteigerung Ihres Assets.

 employee black

PE-Dedicated Prüfungsteam als Sparringspartner mit pragmatischen Lösungen angepasst an Ihre Unternehmensgröße.

 software black

Einsatz innovativer Tools, welche die Prüfung Ihrer Daten effizienter und transparenter gestaltet.

 technology digital black

Fachexpertise aus zahlreichen Prüfungen und Transaktionen im PE-Umfeld.

Nothing but Quality – von Deal bis Exit

Unsere Private Equity Prüfungen haben zwei wesentliche Ziele. Nummer Eins: alle Compliance-Anforderungen bei geringer Belastung der lokalen Geschäftsführung jederzeit zu erfüllen. Nummer Zwei: bei allen Chancen und Herausforderungen für Ihr Haus an Ihrer Seite zu stehen.

Konkret heißt das: Bei der Prüfung fokussieren wir uns auf die für Sie relevanten Themen – und reduzieren Ihren Aufwand damit auf ein Minimum. Überraschungen zum Bilanzstichtag? Nicht mit unseren spezialisierten PE-Audit-Teams – dank sorgfältiger Prüfungsplanung und frühzeitiger Abstimmung der für Sie wichtigen Themen.

Wie schaffen wir das? Mit Sachverstand – und Technologie. Marktführende Tools erlauben uns die Vollanalyse statt Stichproben. Mit maximaler Sicherheit und Datenabzug, reduziert auf die risikobehafteten Auffälligkeiten.

Exit gefällig? Auch hierfür sind wir Ihr Partner

Gerade als Ihr Abschlussprüfer können wir Sie dabei unterstützen, die Qualität Ihrer Finanzdaten – zum Beispiel Monatsabschlüsse inklusive Gewinn-und-Verlust-Rechnung, Bilanz und Cashflow und Profitabilitätsrechnungen – zu prüfen. Wenn es Verbesserungspotenzial gibt – und wir sind sicher, dass es das gibt –, dann finden wir es. Und machen konkrete Vorschläge, wie sich eventuelle Lücken beheben lassen – streng nach Zeit- und Aktionsplan.

Praxiserprobtes Überleitungskonzept mit modernen Prüfungstools

Unser Team für Private Equity Audit verfügt über vielfältige Erfahrung – dank zahlreicher erfolgreicher Mandatsüberleitungen und IPOs, von globalen Konzernen und im europäischen Mittelstand. Diese Erfahrungen haben wir gesammelt, strukturiert und in ein praxiserprobtes Konzept gegossen. Für eine schnelle und hochwertige Überleitung finden wir Antworten auf drei zentrale Fragen: Wie funktioniert Ihre Organisation und was sind die Werttreiber Ihres Geschäftsmodells? Wie schließen wir schnellstmöglich die Informationslücke zum aktuellen Prüfer?

Unser Servicekonzept auf einen Blick

Schnelle Reaktion

Wir prüfen und bewerten alle abschlussrelevanten Transaktionen und die jeweilige bilanzielle Behandlung frühzeitig. So vermeiden wir Überraschungen zum Bilanzstichtag für Sie. Und: Partner und erfahrene Manager sind regelmäßig bei Ihnen. Das garantiert eine schnelle, unkomplizierte Reaktion. Das ist uns wichtig, weil wir wissen: Relevante Themen und Ad-hoc-Sachverhalte lassen sich am besten persönlich lösen.

Stets mit Ihnen im Austausch

Dank regelmäßiger Statusmeetings während der Prüfung sowie Zwischen- und Abschlussgesprächen nach jeder Prüfungsphase sind Sie stets auf dem Laufenden. Wir lösen Ihre Anfragen schnell, verbindlich und pragmatisch – nicht nur zur Abschlussprüfung, sondern das ganze Jahr über.

Value Meetings

Sie profitieren von regelmäßigen persönlichen Meetings mit Experten zu relevanten Themen für Sie und Ihre Gesellschafter. Dazu gehören etwa Digitalisierung im Vertrieb, Transferpreise, Cyber Security, Compliance und viele weitere transaktionsbezogene Themen.

Private-Equity-Netzwerk

Viele unserer Mitarbeiter sind auf bestimmte Sachgebiete spezialisiert. Diese Spezialisten sind für Sie da – auch kurzfristig.

Wachstum und Qualität gehören zu Ihrer DNA? Das verbindet uns

Wir wissen: Viele deutsche Unternehmen sind in ihrem Kerngeschäft Marktführer und extrem innovativ. Wachstum ist Teil ihrer DNA. Aber: Starkes Wachstum allein garantiert keinen Erfolg. Deswegen lernen wir Ihre Unternehmensagenda kennen und beraten Sie vorausschauend. Als Ihr Abschlussprüfer bieten wir Ihnen weit mehr als Sicherheit für Ihre Finanzberichterstattung: Unser auf Private Equitys spezialisiertes Prüfungsteam ist Ihr Sparringspartner, der gemeinsam mit Ihnen in den Ring steigt.

Was uns als Marktführer für Wirtschaftsprüfung auszeichnet:

  • Langjährige Deals-Erfahrung im Private Equity-Umfeld
  • Internationale und interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit, IFRS Umstellungen, Erfahrungsaustausch und Best Practices
  • Umfangreiche Erfahrung mit Private Equity-geführten Portfoliogesellschaften
  • Expertise im Private Equity-Accounting, inkl. Bad Will, Restrukturierung, Finanzierung, Kaufpreisallokation, Share-based Compensation und Covenants Reporting
  • Bereitstellung unseres Branchen Know-How mit hochkarätigen Studien und Top-Events

Besonderer Bedarf? Exzellent! 

Wenn Sie spezifische Fragen haben – kein Problem. Unsere langjährige Erfahrung in der Unterstützung von Portfoliounternehmen und von Private Equity-Häusern bündeln wir in unserem Private Equity Center of Excellence – und binden genau die Spezialisten ins Prüfungsteam ein, die Sie gerade am dringendsten brauchen. Schnell und effektiv. So haben Sie jederzeit Zugriff auf Best Practices Ihrer Branche.

Mit innovativen Tools prüfen wir Ihre Daten noch effizienter und transparenter. So widmen wir uns sehr konzentriert Ihren spezifischen Anforderungen. Zum Beispiel:

  • die Optimierung der Performance und die Weiterentwicklung der Finanzberichterstattung.
  • Bilanzpolitische Gestaltung zur Lösung von Finanzierungsfragen unter Einhaltung von Financial Covenants
  • Definition nicht-finanzieller KPIs, um die ESG-Performance zu messen, zu steuern und den Stakeholdern Bericht zu erstatten

Digitale Abschlussprüfung

Neue regulatorische Anforderungen wie die Prüferrotation, zunehmend digitale Geschäftsmodelle und neue Technologien wie Big Data, künstliche Intelligenz und Blockchain werden die Wirtschaftsprüfung revolutionieren. Welche Chancen ergeben sich daraus – für Wirtschaftsprüfer und Unternehmen gleichermaßen?

Follow us

Contact us

Dietmar Prümm

Dietmar Prümm

PE Audit - Partner, PwC Germany

Tel.: +49 211 981-2146

Thomas Schicke

Thomas Schicke

PE Audit - Director, PwC Germany

Tel.: +49 211 981-1283

Daniel  Spengemann

Daniel Spengemann

PE Audit - Director, PwC Germany

Tel.: +49 69 9585-3762

Hide